We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stopover Guest House
Ranked #10 of 34 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Honestly, I did not stayed there, but dined every day!
The food, waiters, cook, kitchen, prices, service, assortment of seafood - all are the best I've been across Kenya, even comparing to expensive ones in Nairobi! Really!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nice little guesthouse which offers everything you need for excellent value. Very recommendable is the restaurant which serves simple and incredible tasty food.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I can fully confirm - the Stopover Guest House in Lamu (it's a new hotel, the same owner has also another hotel on the Shella beach) is beatifula place! Nice and spacious rooms, tasty breakfast served at the roof terrace with great view on the see... very very clean!! what to expect more? the staff is very polite and helpful. high standard for resonable price!

we saw few other guest houses in Lamu, also the once recommended by LP, but they were disaster!

our friends stayed in Kilimanjaro guest house and that was also very nice!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I guess 'globetrotter' has not actually trotted very much around our globe. Their 'misunderstandings' with Stopover AND Captain Beyonce could only be caused by their own inexperience or naivety or perhaps worse..... I saw one other traveller in Shela creating a fuss, and it was all down to her arrogance (ignorance?). Shela has to be the safest place in Africa. Your children can run freely around the village and you can be sure that nothing will happen. The people are the friendliest I have met anywhere. In fact after just over 2 weeks in November we have booked to return for New Year. Stopover was wonderful ans Baitil Aman a dream......

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_Lamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed here with a friend recently and I have never before been so tempted to write an online review (good or bad). This place was amazing! Now, bear in mind we had been backpacking and camping for a week at this point so most places would have felt luxurious, but we were so happy with where we were staying.

We were greeted at the airport and given a free transfer by dhow to the hotel. Once we arrived, we were given a free welcome drink (fresh juice - note they don't sell alcohol here, Ramadam or not) and introductions by three members of staff, including the manager.

Our room was on the top floor, very large, with two double beds, both with large mosquito nets. It's ensuite (only thing to note, if such things bother you, was that there's no door on the bathroom, only a curtain but you can't see anything) and although the showers are cool (not as cold as some we have encountered whilst here) I wouldn't think you need a hot one here. The balcony was also large, with two sun loungers, a table and a large day-bed, perfect for when it gets a bit too hot in the sun. Sun stays on the balcony all morning and until about 3.30pm. Next door also has an area on the balcony, but it's so large we didn't mind (perhaps patio is a better decription?)

Throughout our stay, the staff were some of the friendliest and most attentive I have encountered - we wanted for nothing. Breakfast and lunch was served on our balcony (due to Ramadam, they do not serve food in the restaurant until the evening, but to be honest our balcony was so lovely we prefered it this way) and all of the food was delicious - we ate here every evening as well. The manager gave us some great advice on how to stay safe and seem genuinely concerned that we look after ourselves (agree that the beach boys get tiring, but if you follow his advice, and refuse to get into conversation, they soon get bored). The other staff were constantly on hand to do laundry, cleaning, fetch drinks etc. Each evening whilst we ate dinner, they prepared our room for the evening, bringing down the mosquito nets, turning on the fans and closing the blinds.

As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the hotel's tour guide is very friendly and helpful, but probably will try to get what he can out of you - we had to remind him on a couple of occassions that we were out of funds (not your usual guests, I imagine). Could do with a pool, but you are right on the beach and apparently some of the larger hotels do allow external visitors to use thier pools for a fee, but to be honest we didn't feel the need.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonersw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We contacted a small eco-travel company on Lamu and they booked Stopover ahead for us. The owner of the company, Gabriel, met us at the air strip, showed us to our room, and gave us a town tour. Everything went very smoothly!

We could have stayed at a private house and paid a bit less, although we wouldn't have been right on the water. Might do that next time.

One thing we do agree with -- the negotiating on Lamu can kill your vacation. It drove us crazy in the shops and when we tried to hop a boat from Lamu Town to Shela. Fortunately for us it was an annoyance rather than a vacation-killer. We'd go back to Lamu, which is a mysterious and amazing place, and try to get to the outer islands next time. But we'd probably call the same company again so we didn't have to bother with the hassles described in some of these other posts. It's www.lamutravel.com -- I think they bill themselves and nature plus culture, something like that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandgirl10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stop over guesthouse is a really nice place to stay. the people who work there are great. we had some miscommunication with the owners about how many rooms we wanted to take and the price. they did not greet us upon our arrival. we waited for 2 hours before deciding to go sightseeing. the owner then called us demanding to know where we were and to return immediately. upon doing so he verbally accosted us and charged us 8000 ksh to stay one night in one room.

we left the next morning feeling very uneasy. he had promised to give us 1000 ksh in return but never did.

it was agreed that the cost covered the pick up from the airport. a few days later the boat man from the Beyonce, followed us at night and told us we owed him money. we explained what we were told. the next day, he jumped in to another boat we were taking and forced the captain of the boat to start driving towards the ocean. my friend jumped out and swam to shore and found the owner of the stop over guest house. he agreed to take the 1000 he never gave back to us and give it to the boat man. so not only did he screw us over, but in order to get back at us, he scammed a boatman.

these guys are cut throat business men. i have never been more terrified in kenya.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank globetrotter197234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamu Island hotels
0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shela Bahari Guest House
Shela Bahari Guest House
#8 of 34 in Lamu Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 34 in Lamu Island
220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dudu Villas n Cottages
Dudu Villas n Cottages
#10 of 29 in Lamu Island
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jua House
Jua House
#1 of 6 in Shela
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stopover Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stopover Guest House

Address: Shela Harbour, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range: $66 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stopover Guest House Hotel Lamu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing