We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home, work hard and relax in a nice place”
Review of Jannat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jannat House
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Jannat House is a very charming house with a lot of stairs, verandahs and rooms here and there. The swimmingpool and restaurant by the poolside is a very nice meeting point, the staff are very friendly and the food is welltasting. It worked very well to have a group of students staying here, they had a lot of space both for relaxing and working.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UppsalaMwalimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Jannat House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

I must say for real my visit to Jannat House Lamu was a memorable experience.First on arrival i was offered a warm friendly welcome by the staff of the hotel,talk of hospitality and i found it in these staff.The hotel is real cool,splendid rooms and wonderful view of the ocean and entire Lamu island from the terraces of the hotel upstairs.Meals and drinks were specially done and served and ooh how delicious they were especially the nicely prepared sea foods.There is so much more i enjoyed at Jannat house and i desire to be there again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karisNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Jannat House is located in the old town. It is traditional but with modernised facilities. It captures the essence of Lamu and is convenient for the harbour and the town. The rooms are comfortable, the staff exceptional and the food very good. The courtyard pool is very welcome after a day of sightseeing.
Lamu town is unique and exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llandogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I dearly recommend a week in beauty- and colourful Lamu. And, Jannat House is the place to stay if you are looking for a small and family-friendly place without beeing robbed. This is a three-star hotel that offers for money and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Perfect for the young couple or the big family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluessinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Hade bokat 7 nätter med halvpension, två dubbelrum med toalett på rummet för vår familj med två tonårsbarn just efter nyår 2010.

När vi kom visade det sig att Jannat hade dubbelbokat trots att vi hade bokat och fått bekräftelse 6 månader innan. På grund av det fick vi första natten två usla rum där den gemensamma toaletten inte ens spolade. Och ingen ursäkt, inget erbjudande om någon form av kompensation.

Rummen vi sedan fick var små och slitna. 'Ena rummet endast med skynke till toaletten.

Efter tredje natten vaknade min yngste son med mängder av loppbett över hela ryggen. Ägaren tillkallades och höll med om att det inte var myggbett och lovade att han skulle desinficera rummet omgående och ge oss ett nytt rum. I det läget fick vi nog och bytte hotell trots att vi betalat i förväg för sju nätter.

Ägaren försökte sedan snacka bort detta på alla möjliga vis, föreslog Röda Hund eller mässling (han är som alla barn vaccinerad mot båda) och ville sedan inte kompensera oss någonting för de nätter vi inte utnyttjade, inte ens för den maten vi inte åt som vi betalat för (och då föreslog jag inte full ersättning för det vi inte utnyttjat och höll en lugn ton hela vägen trots att jag var skitförbannad).

Ägaren, en norsktalande tysk om jag förstod det rätt. var en otrolig man på att snacka och slingra sig. Han menade att exempelvis att Jannat hade den bästa dhowen i Lamu. Vid första heldagsturen gick ett oljerör i motorn sönder så att besättningen fick länsa vatten heltid sista timmen och vi bara kunde gå för halvfart.

När vi två dagar senare skulle ut på snorklingstur pajade oljeröret ännu en gång och turen fick inställas. När vi väl kom ut dagen därpå gick seglet sönder.

I ärlighetens namn är övrig personal mycket trevlig och maten åtminstone ätbar. Men hotellet håller en mycket låg standard och är ganska nergånget med små och kyffiga rum. Redan innan min son ficxk lusbett hade vi tröttnat och tidigarelagt hemresan eftersom vi inte kände att vi orkade bo på Jannat i sju nätter.

Sänglössen avgjorde dock saken och ägarens uppträdande i samband med det hedrar honom sannerligen inte.

Undvik Jannat House till varje pris!!!

Mvh Torbjörn Henriksson

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THTravellerSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemaeliza, Manager at Jannat House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

i wish to respond to the review.This guest come to lamu with a different expectation and here in Lamu they are Swahili houses it is not like Mombasa.
When he arrive at the hotel he was satisfied with the rooms and they were very comfortable,after the second night there son wake up and they were not loise bites it was chicken pox.the same morning they went out for a trip with one of the staff of the hotel and the trip was OK and no oil link or sail broken.Them they arrived after the trip and confirm the trip was very fine.
After refreshing they went out for a while when they come back they told the owner they want to have a luxury for their last days in Africa,the owner agreed with them.After there check out the next morning they come back asking the owner to refund the money but he could not because they paid through the agent.The owner ask them to go back to the agent to get there compensation,he left with anger after he was told that.For me i will advise him to go to the agent and complain to them and we can sort out with the agent.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Stayed at Jannat house a couple of years ago during Xmas. I was quoted a lower price than anything that existed when I called them but to their hounour they stood by it. Rooms are small but OK, the patio area is among the best in Lamu. Lots of places for relaxing, half sleeoing and reading books, a small pool good for families with kids, a bar that serves alcohol. A little to far off in one corner of the town for my taste and very close to one of the mosques so one wakes up every morning at 5 (?).

I would not pay their regular prices but if one can get a deal it is very OK. They also serve food that differs a bit from the usual bush garden stuff so that is also nice.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesth_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed with my husband and three year-old for three nights. Enjoyed our entire stay. The location is great - just a short walk from the main street and plaza. The room we had directly above the pool was perfect for us as we could go easily from pool to room and back. Lamu is very hot and the pool was a great, close diversion. Service is great and very accomodating. We chose to eat nearly all our meals at the restaurant on-site for its convenience and it was mostly above average food - the pizza was always good. Be sure to do a Dhow cruise on Jannat's boat if possible. We went to the Takwa ruins and had the boat to ourselves. (You have to time the tides to do this trip, so it may not be possible.) Used the motor to the ruins and sailed back. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
125 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
34 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jannat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jannat House

Address: Mkomani | Off Kenyatta Road, 195, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range: $38 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jannat House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the place to stay in lamu. jannat house is situated a short work from the main street and the lamu waterfront.jannat house combined the unique elegance of traditional swahili architecture with modern comfort and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jannat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jannat House Hotel Lamu Island
Jannat Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing