We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mystic and beautiful hide-away in the middle of Lamu town”
Review of Jannat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jannat House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel lies in Lamu town and reminds. The house is built with a lot of care for details to deliver private hide-aways, but in a house that is truly local.
A new, young management recently took over the place and is very dedicated to renovate the place and help it's guest.
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

We found this hotel exceptionally welcoming and friendly. The room was excellent and the evening meals superb. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely relaxed and comfortable. The terraces are a wonderful place to spend an evening relaxing. Would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had the good fortune of spending 4 nights at the Jannat House in March, and it was honestly an idyllic experience. Having visited a number of hotels and guest houses in Lamu, I can say with confidence that this is amongst the best and most reasonably priced options. The unique tree-house like terraces provide a stunning view of the town-scape and the Indian ocean. Service was excellent and very friendly. Johnny is a superb, welcoming, and highly resourceful host who introduced us to Lamu and helped us organize memorable experiences and excursions in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBZiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We came in the low season and found Jannat House a well-priced B&B ($60 for an ensuite double, I think). We were there with three friends, and had the place to ourselves for three or four nights. The only real downside was the breakfasts, which were not very interesting or tasty. The rest of the food on offer was tasty and well-priced, however, and we had dinner up on the roof one night. The building is tall, so the views are great. A fast wifi connection in the house is a bonus, and there were couches and daybeds on little terraces all over which we made good use of. The bathroom was pretty small, but everything was clean and comfortable and the bedroom very cute. I think we got what we paid for, with the outdoor space and pool a nice bonus. Owner/manager Johnny (from Norway) is a doctor, which might come in handy if you get sick. Airport transportation can be arranged but is not included in the price. 5min walk from the jetty, but they will meet you there and carry your bags. I'm not sure why TA is asking me to rate the fitness centre, since there certainly wasn't one there when we visited.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the mosque. If you don't want to wake up very early, make sure you ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

An excellent choice of hotel when staying in Lamu Town. An oasis with terraces and greenery. We have lived here for over 2 weeks and it felt very familiar. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A great architectonically interesting house in the middle of the maze of Lamu town. Different size rooms that are nicely decorated but starting to be little shabby. Everything is slightly damp and doesn´t smell realy 100% nice. But all the terrases all over the house are wonderfull. You can sit and relax in plenty of places. The pool is nice. There is a bar with probably the best beer prices in town. Food is ok, but nothing to write home about. They realy destroyed my lobster and crab. Who on earths serves crab with boiled potatoes and soft fried onion and mixes the crab meat with mushrooms?? The staff that understands english is very helpfull and nice. I woul definitely stay here again and if there wasn´t anywhere else even eat the food. Though I don´t know if I can recomend it to honeymoon couples becouse of the knirky beds.

Room Tip: Tunu room has the best relax area and can be converted to connecting suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose Jannat House on the basis of recommendations at Trip Advisor and were not disappointed at all. We stayed for five nights at US$60 per night in late June 2011 and it was hard to leave.

Elizabeth and Johnny were the most friendly and attentive hosts who made our stay a memorable experience. We neglected to tell them how we were arriving (by bus/ferry) and so their staff crossed twice to Manda Airport to meet flights. They also accompanied us to Manda when we left.

Jannat House is architecturally interesting with open-air lounges, courtyards and roof top balconies with views over Lamu Town to the water. The pool was the central focus and was cleaned every morning that we were there. We ate breakfast and several dinners and were delighted with the meals and the staff. Meal prices compared favourably with other menus we saw in Lamu. Our room was spacious, clean and charmingly presented. All of the staff from the cleaners to the owners took an obvious pride in their establishment.

Johnny was a mine of information and advice about Lamu. We shared a trip by dhow with him and another two guests which made a very affordable full day's entertainment.

We also walked to Shela Beach twice. We enjoyed the contrasts of Lamu and Shela and the sights along the way.

Thank you Elizabeth and Johnny .

Room Tip: We stayed in Jaribu (with ensuite) which we would choose again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.1 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
127 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
35 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jannat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jannat House

Address: Mkomani | Off Kenyatta Road, 195, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jannat House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place To Stay In Lamu. Jannat House Is Situated A Short Work From The Main Street And The Lamu Waterfront.jannat House Combined The Unique Elegance Of Traditional Swahili Architecture With Modern Comfort And Friendly Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jannat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jannat House Hotel Lamu Island
Jannat Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing