We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gilligan's Island” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kizingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kizingo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gilligan's Island”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Very bare-bones. It is essentially assisted camping, not a luxurious stay by any standard.

The hosts are very friendly and provide a very casual atmosphere.

The beach is not that clean--full of debris and small crabs. Water is more green-brown than blue. Definitely not a beach you lay out on.

The individual bandas (huts) are separated from each other and the main lodge. Walking back and forth requires dodging small crabs. Note that the bandas do not close completely; there are no doors. Therefore it is very easy for insects to sneak into your banda and bed, as we learned the hard way one night.

Lamu town may have been an interesting city in the past; however, it reminds me of a favela by the time we visited in 2007. You should definitely use their recommended guide.

  • Liked — Great concept, looks great on paper
  • Disliked — Execution, crabs, cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

i went on a humanitarian trip, and i stayed here for about 5 days, and it was the most beautiful place i had ever stayed, the help was fantastic and the only complaint i had was of the crabs

  • Liked — the people, and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — crabs
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank madisonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We had a great time there. Wisely booked after a week on safari. Nice place to unwind. Best part is the hosts. Mary Jo is very witty and very nice. Louie a bit quieter but very nice as well.

The bandas are almost all natural, local materials. Very nice. Very clean considering very open to the elements.

Food was great. Service excellent. A good value.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stakerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

We loved Kizingo, a small eco-resort, with a lazy, get-away-from-it atmosphere. The owners and staff are very friendly and we felt very well looked after. Each 'banda' (palm bungalow) has its own solar lighting and water heating and we were mostly very comfortable - though you do depend on the breeze for ventilation.
Swimming is safe,though it's not a great place for early swimmers due to the shelving beach and side-ways current.
It's wonderfully relaxing and quiet - but the trade-off is that it's a 30-minute boat ride to anywhere and, apart from water-borne activities, there isn't a lot to do and you are quite 'close to nature'.
For a really memorable and unusual holiday in great company, Kizingo rocks.

  • Liked — A luxury approach to an ethical, sustainable holiday
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu-and-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
7.5 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.4 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kizingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizingo

Property: Kizingo
Address: P.O. Box 138, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kizingo is the ultimate 'no news, no shoes’ beach resort - a wonderful secluded and tranquil escape from the modern world. The lodge is situated at one end of a spectacular 12-kilometre beach that stretches from Kizingo (which means 'the point’ in Swahili) to the fashionable village of Shela. Kizingo has eight beautifully appointed bandas (thatched cottages), set well apart from each other. In the early morning you can enjoy tea in bed and watch fishing dhows tack south to Malindi.Guests can be as private or as social as they wish, opting to enjoy fine dining on the balcony of their banda or join other guests in the bar and the dining room with their magnficent views across the bay to mainland Kenya where giant baobab trees spread into the brilliant blue sky.Kizingo is owned and run by the van Aardt family, who were all born in Africa. Due to their long and close relationship with the local village, its chief leased them this stunning beachfront land to build a small resort that is both eco-friendly and very comfortable. Like all the best resorts in Kenya, Kizingo has a symbiotic relationship with the local village, an hour away on foot, and with farmers on the mainland who grow food and make furniture for the lodge.The swimming is excellent, both in the Indian Ocean and in the calm waters of the channel that separates Lamu from the mainland. For the more energetic there is a big choice of activities including a guided tour of historic Lamu Town, excellent snorkelling, the chance to swim with dolphins in the winter months and cycle rides to friendly African villages on the mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kizingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kizingo Hotel Lamu Island
Kizingo Resort Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing