We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Paradise....Security not a problema”
Review of Kizingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kizingo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Real Paradise....Security not a problema”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Kizingo during a 3 week stay in Kenya. We traveled the country and saw many wonderful things while we were in Kenya but Kizingo was definitely a highlight. When we walked into our Banda, I was pleasantly surprised about the size and the beauty of the room. While the amenities were great, what really makes this resort unique is the quality of the service. Mary Jo, Louis, Dion and the complete staff were a pleasure to be around and excellent hosts. We unfortunately were there after a security scare on the Kenyan coast but never felt uneasy or afraid about our safety on the island. If you are questioning the security of the resort, be assured that the location is on the south end on the island and there are many towns located along the channel. Although one recent kidnapping occurred closer to Lamu, it would be much more difficult for this to happen here given the nautical logistics, security and number to towns along the way. If this is a concern to you, Kizingo's location should help put you at ease. I will never forget Kizingo and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andikw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I recently returned from Kizingo and quite frankly am lost for words to describe this most memorable place other than to say it is "Heaven on Earth". The Banda's (rooms) are extremely spacious and the beds enormous. The hosts, Mary Jo, Louis and Dion are warm, hospitable and most entertaining. I am dining out on the tales of Africa they shared with us over a drink at the bar. The staff are delightful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The excursions into Lamu town, Kipingani village and Snorkelling with Louis to view the dolphins must be up there in the 10 most wonderful things to do. I must add to this, walking along that gorgeous uninhabited beach stopping on route to dive into the sea - absolute bliss. We were there in the last two weeks and I felt safe and not in the least bit threatened. We have pretty much travelled all over the world and it just doesn't get better than this. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Kizingo is exactly as you see on the pictures, just by the beach, a lot of funny crabs running around and the bandas (your accommodation hut) which is much bigger than a 5 star hotel room and makes the place very special. But without the helpful, generous and welcoming staff and owners Kizingo wouldn't have been the same. It's the best place we've ever stayed to relax and not do anything perfect after months of stressful wedding-planning. Food is fantastic from crab and lobster to amazing Moroccan fish. When you arrive to Lamu you're picked up in a boat and taken about 40 min through the mangroves to Kizingo - which is a stunning trip. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Buy your Kikoy here, much cheaper than the airport Don't be scared about the crabs - they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirran80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We spent the first week of our three week honeymoon in Kizingo and although we had lots of excitment planned for the second two weeks of our trip, we were very sad to leave Kizingo.

We don't have a bad word to say about Kizingo but if you are looking for resort accommendation with a strip of bars and restaurants nearby this is not the place for you. There are lots of daily excursions you can take, like a tour to Lamu town (25 mins on boat) or even a dhowa boat trip and the hotel can arrange for spa treatments at very reasonable rates the evening is for relaxing in Kizingo. This is a place where you can totally switch off as there is no TV or other worldly distractions. There is no swimming pool in Kizingo, but you will never want to swim in a pool again once you have experienced the waters on the Kizingo beach.

A special mention to Dion, the son of the owners, who provided us with exceptional hospitality and many interesting discussions over one of Kizingo's tasty cocktails. But be warned, we weighted over 1/2 a stone more when we left...as the food was so lovely.

We cannot recommend Kizingo enough for anybody who wants a special retreat off the beaten track. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. Kizingo really is a special place, run by wonderful people in Mary-Jo and Louis, who have fantastic staff. Do not be tempted by any place next door - Kizingo is the best spot on Lamu island by some distance (after a few visits). Incredibly relaxing with wonderful food (all food quibles catered for in style). 10/10

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuit_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We came to Magical Africa Safaris to ask about planning a trip to Mount Kenya and when we mentioned that we were going to Lamu, Henry suggested we visit the Kizingo resort
in Lamu, which we at first were reluctant to go to, as it was higher than our usual budget and with being on the move for over a month and having to limit our costs. So we were
cajoled into agreeing to go there for a night stay...though Henry did warn us that we would definitely want to stay on after we got there. And true to his word, we were totally taken by the place...
which he described as a ‘no shoes beach resort. We enjoyed the hospitality of the owners Mary Jo and Louis, their very helpful staff and met up with a very friendly group of people who also happened to be there at the same time. It was such a relief to be at a place after our hectic travel through other parts of Africa as here is was peaceful and tranquil and a good escape from the modern world.

So we have Henry to thank for the great tip and for giving us his time to help plan some of our travel in Kenya.
Thank for all your help and all the best with Magical Africa safaris.

Priya Machado
Amsterdam
Holland
March 2011

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The boat trip from Lamu airport is great fun and takes about 25 minutes. The welcome on your arrival is low profile and very pleasant and then you are taken to your amazing Banda accommodation. It is everything you could expect and more. A very spacious, beautiful, exotic and luxurious room with a large comfortable bed. There is a lovely outside space where breakfast or afternoon tea can be served or just for sitting on your hammock. The main Banda where you have breakfast and dinner is of similar style with a lovely bar and just enough dinner tables for the number of guests staying. I mentioned the low profile welcome from the Manager Dion. When we arrived it might have seemed even a little too casual but you will soon get to know Dion as he is very keen to chat and make you feel at home but without too much pressure. When you get to know him he will basically chat to you as much as you want to chat to him, a lovely chap, a great host and great fun to be around. There was nothing better than retiring to the bar after a lovely dinner and having a few drinks hearing Dion's hilarious stories. But.. back to the dinner.. the food was fantastic, 3 courses, fresh fish everyday.. prepared by a local chef. Did I mention breakfast or lunch by the way.. ? Just beautiful and food on holiday is very important to us. So back to the resort. The beach is just magnificent and you can walk a mile up the beach without seeing another person. I must mention the staff. All locals and just lovely people. Alex, the barman, as well as waiter and our tour guide to a local village was just a legend. If you want to get away from it all, recharge your batteries and meet some great people. Just go..! Sorry to Dion that is has taken me so long to publish this review! Can't wait to see you again soon at Kizingo !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieandginger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
7.4 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
47 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
33 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 32 in Lamu Island
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kizingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizingo

Property: Kizingo
Address: P.O. Box 138, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kizingo is the ultimate 'no news, no shoes’ beach resort - a wonderful secluded and tranquil escape from the modern world. The lodge is situated at one end of a spectacular 12-kilometre beach that stretches from Kizingo (which means 'the point’ in Swahili) to the fashionable village of Shela. Kizingo has eight beautifully appointed bandas (thatched cottages), set well apart from each other. In the early morning you can enjoy tea in bed and watch fishing dhows tack south to Malindi.Guests can be as private or as social as they wish, opting to enjoy fine dining on the balcony of their banda or join other guests in the bar and the dining room with their magnficent views across the bay to mainland Kenya where giant baobab trees spread into the brilliant blue sky.Kizingo is owned and run by the van Aardt family, who were all born in Africa. Due to their long and close relationship with the local village, its chief leased them this stunning beachfront land to build a small resort that is both eco-friendly and very comfortable. Like all the best resorts in Kenya, Kizingo has a symbiotic relationship with the local village, an hour away on foot, and with farmers on the mainland who grow food and make furniture for the lodge.The swimming is excellent, both in the Indian Ocean and in the calm waters of the channel that separates Lamu from the mainland. For the more energetic there is a big choice of activities including a guided tour of historic Lamu Town, excellent snorkelling, the chance to swim with dolphins in the winter months and cycle rides to friendly African villages on the mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kizingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kizingo Hotel Lamu Island
Kizingo Resort Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing