We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamu Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamu Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lamu palace the location is good,but the problem is that its near the fish shop and petrol shop,that is very dangers to even the staff working there and the smell from sea when is low water if you cant be sick i dont know they is a sewage right infront of the hotel,otherwise the rooms are not clean and very small you cant move around, the only thing we did enjoy the town tour and the boat ride to shella beach, some staff are very helpfull, their is this one lady miss kazia she was very rudy to some guest that we were sitting next too.please if are planing to visit lamu they are lot of hotels which are 4 star and the price is very reasonable than that of lamu palace and not saying dont stay there but if you want to enjoy lamu this beautiful town stay in lamu house,or private houses or stay in shella. you will see the different.but as for me us we will never stay there and we will not let our friend stay there.

Room Tip: rooms from behind avoid them,the only room you should stay 2 front room in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lamu Palace is a typical "safe choice" hotel. It's in a good location, the staff is helpful (and they even come greet you at the airport, and take you to the hotel by speedboat, which is a nice touch), they have a pretty good restaurant and clean (albeit small) rooms. All in all, if you're not too adventurous, I'd definitely say that staying here is a great idea.
On the other hand, Lamu is such a magical place, with narrow streets, old Swahili houses built of coral, hundreds of years of tradition to be explored and wonderful people - next time I'll definitely go to one of the traditional Swahili houses (either guesthouses, or rooms to rent - e.g. from Mama Husna) to get a deeper exposure to the place.
That said, I must thank the staff - all of them were great. Raffael even took us for a one-hr guided tour which was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

the ambiance was wow, amazing collection of wall hangings and furniture, the Swahili theme. It was lovely the food was good. Cool place to relax and talk.
I would go there again, with a group of friends this time round.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Namz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
370 reviews
354 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We drove by car from Mombasa via Lamu to Garissa. The Lamu Palace had a very friendly management, excellent staff, great food. The rooms with seaview are good. The rooms to the back should be avoided. There was renovation going on. In central Lamu, I found the Palace the best hotel, however it cannot be compared with the luxury (and price levels) of the Peponi in Shela or the Majlis.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

After 1 night at another hotel, we moved over to the Palace hotel. Thankfully these rooms had air conditioning as it was SO hot in Lamu when we were there. Food was ok, but there were a lot of places to eat within walking distance. You must take a dhow to Shela and Manda beaches! Best place in the world!! Evenings, you have to check out the "rooftop' bar. Lots of wind and a good place to cool down with some beverages! Lamu is a fantastic place to visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sl_traveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

New Lamu Palace Hotel is a really great place to visit if you want to spend a little time exploring Lamu Town. We were met at the airstrip on Manda Island by staff from the hotel and taken by their boat directly to the hotel where we were greeted with a fresh coconut drink. The hotel is situated right on the waterfront and has comfortable swahili furnished rooms. The staff were very good - attentive without being intrusive - and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great too. The housekeeper Esther was a delight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hermanwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Far too expensive compared to the lovely hotels 2 kilometres away in Shela, like Kijani House which is cheaper and far beautifully decorated. They insist on charging 5% for Amex and Visa. Rooms are boxy with just enough room to move round the double bed. No hot water. The food was also expensive and not very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeymandiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamu Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
1.7 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
7.6 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamu Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamu Palace Hotel

Property: Lamu Palace Hotel
Address: 421 Lamu, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamu Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamu Palace Hotel itself resembles a palace with its large open spaces and tall handsome pillars forming arches. Lamu Palace hotel is located on the seafront which means there is always good sea breeze. The hotel has a total of 22 rooms and suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, equipped with TV, fans, A/Cs and mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Lamu Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing