We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five star experience”
other traveler has booked this property
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach. Forodhani swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach.
Forodhani swimming pool
The front entrance.
The main lounge, spacy.
View from all terraces.
Entrance to the dining room.
View from the dining room.
One of the double bedrooms.
The master bedroom.
Forodhani terrace on the beach
Sunset from the terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lamu Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KatrinE19
1 review
“Five star experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I just spent some amazing days at Forodhani House, and it was the best experience I could have ever wished for. Forodhani House is truly an amazing space, the food is fantastic, the entire property is exquisitely maintained and of very good taste, it has excellent service in and outside the house, an awesome range of activities, let alone the best view for sunrise, sunset and any time in between. The energy here is fantastic, with the sea right outside the front door and the friendly, bubbly local community all around - it's the perfect location one could look for on a special day, like a birthday, a romantic get away, or simply being with a group of very good friends. Forodhani House is a truly 5 stars experience, no question!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

If I had a choice I would stay at Forodhani forever!!!
The house is very beautiful, spacious, divine and has the best interior decor ever!!!Perfection at it's best.
The rooms are very spacious and clean and with the best views ever!
You can catch the sunrise and sunset even without living the house.
The staff are the most well mannered, polite and friendly people I've ever met.
Amos is the best and such a brilliant chef. We almost wanted to take him back to Nairobi with us, we're still thinking of it ;-).You can't even describe the culinary experience,you just to experience it yourself to believe it. Cosmus and the rest are just the perfect staff you would want to get.
Isabelle was very friendly and informative.
She arranged for us a tour to the old town which was so amazing and water skiing by Nawaf and you wouldn't regret it.
I have recommended Forodhani and will still recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Mmmmm... You are very sweet, thank you so much ! Happy you enjoyed your stay, much happy, Karibu saana anytime for sure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M
1 review
“Beautiful house. Beautiful views. Beautiful people.”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The staff at Forodhani were very professional and friendly and catered to all of our needs. Amos was such a brilliant chef. We almost wanted to take him back to Nairobi with us. Forodhani house is so gorgeous by the ocean providing such a scenic view. I would advise anyone staying here to catch the sunrise from the outside seating area. It was out of this world. This was my second time staying here this year and I honestly can't wait to be back in this paradise again. Thank you Forodhani!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
We are happy you were happy :-)
Thank you so much for your stay and for your feed-back here, Ashley, Karibu tena na saana and all the very best Lovely people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All4it
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 days in Paradise”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 4 nights with a group of 8 friends at the end of an African safari. We all loved the house and staff and enjoyed going for dhow sails, guided walks and unguided beach walks, as well as staying put in the villa and chilling out. The food cooked by our lovely staff was great and no need to go elsewhere for a meal. Evening movies were a highlight, though English titles were scarce. A few issues we had at the beginning were quickly dealt with, and leading up to our stay, Isabelle, the owner provided lots of information and reassurance. A great way to end our journey and we all dream of returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The position and feeling of peace and security when we were a little nervous about coming.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you, much :-).
Good point, well noted, for the Movies, we'll organise more of these, more english language ones or with english subtitles ones.
We'll be very happy to take great care of you Lovely people again, Karibu tena anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon_Ex...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I am absolutely obsessed with this property! This was my second time going back and it was even more beautiful than I remembered.

This beach front villa is perfect for those looking for a serene, intimate and tasteful experience. The rooms are pretty spacious with views of the ocean and the staff was incredibly kind and welcoming! And don't even get me started on the food - I added 2 kilos in just 3 days thanks to Chef Amos' cooking! Divine.

I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a unique getaway.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thank you sooo much Sharon, we really Love to have you here each time you come, we might be a bit obsessed with you, us too :-) Very Happy you enjoyed your Stay. Karibu saana na tena anytime <3
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel C
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful!”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

An incredibly beautiful place with culture and history, beautiful architecture, kind and gracious people, amazing seafood, and beautiful beaches literally on your doorstop. The house itself is gorgeous, and you are able to see (and participate in, if you wish!) the comings and goings of local life. Isabelle and her staff were all warm, thoughtful and considerate, which we appreciated seeing our 2 young children. We look forward to returning many times!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
You made our day again, sooo happy you were happy here ! Thank you and Karibu saana anytime, we Loved and Love to have you here, more than much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_M_Shah...
1 review
“A little slice of heaven in Lamu”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Forodhani House with a group of 12 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Our group included 2 kids and one infant. It really is a beautiful property that feels like a home away from home. Amos, Francis and the rest of the team went out of their way to take care of us without ever being awkward or intrusive. And the food was exceptional. The layout of the house is also conducive to a big group, offering enough communal space poolside while also having privacy when required. We've already booked to stay again for this year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
It's true and we are very happy to welcome your lovely group again soon! A huge THANK YOU :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing