We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Slice Of Heaven”
other traveler has booked this property
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach. Forodhani swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach.
Forodhani swimming pool
The front entrance.
The main lounge, spacy.
View from all terraces.
Entrance to the dining room.
View from the dining room.
One of the double bedrooms.
The master bedroom.
Forodhani terrace on the beach
Sunset from the terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lamu Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
karachi28
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Slice Of Heaven”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at the Fordhani house with a group of 8 people from both Kenya and overseas. We had a magical time in Lamu. The house is perfectly located on Shela Beach right at the jetty. So you will always see people hanging out and trying to sell you samosas when you are siting on the terrace. However, that is not disruptive and adds to you feeling like one in the community. I felt very safe in the house and we cherished our evenings sitting on the terrace with our gin and tonics and feeling the cool ocean breeze.

The house is beautifully decorated with a lot of space. We spent a lot of time in the house and also on the beach right next to the house. It did rain heavily once and we had to retreat to the inside area that is covered (there is not a lot of cover in the house so when it rains, you have to retreat to a room!). The staff is simply amazing there and they really take care of you. Amos, the cook, Francois and others are just great. We had fantastic meals every day. Who does not want to wake up and be asked what we'd like for breakfast? Truly spoiled.

The only reason I did not give the house 5 stars is because I think the maintenance can be better. We found holes in the mosquito nets over the beds, and general maintenance and upkeep can be improved.

Having said that, this is the best house in Shela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africaava...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Forodhani for 6 weeks on an extended working holiday, It's very hard to put into words what an amazing experience it was. The house has the perfect blend of Lamu design and modern creature comforts including decent internet access, swimming pool and a cozy cinema. The management team are professional and fix any issues immediately. It also has stunning views of the channel from every corner of the house. I treasure the memories of our stay there,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfizz2015
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Perfect Paradise.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything about this place was perfect.
The service, the house, the cleanliness, the hospitality.
We were treated like royalty in his paradise. I would strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeromeoS
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best houses in one of the magical places in the world”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lamu island is like nowhere else on earth and Forodhani is without doubt one of the most amazing houses there.

Metres from the ocean, with amazing sea views in two directions, you are right above the pier in Shela. The dhows sail past so close to the terrace it feels that your should be able to reach out and touch them.

The staff are incredibly friendly, and the chef is among the best in Shela. The house is also one of the few in Shela which boasts a pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and design
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarAway27...
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I've been staying here already few times and I will come back for sure. Amazing team, amazing House, stunning views... Holidays !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timkut68
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Lamu Island so we have no comparison with other accommodation available. I'm quite sure however that if you want a beach house in a gorgeous location with amazing views and lots of history nearby, then you can't beat this house. We were only 5 people yet we didn't feel overwhelmed by the size of the house. The rooms are enormous and a sea view awaits you at any moment. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool all day and even at night as it is very private. It was a pity the projector was broken as they seem to have an excellent selection of films available and I imagine it would have been nice in the evenings. Wi fi worked reasonably well! We could sit on the wall overlooking the beach and watch the world of dhow boats passing us by, or stroll 2 minutes to Peponi hotel for a sundowner. Lamu was an easy 20 minute trip by boat for interesting excursions. The staff are really lovely and as other comments have said - the cook is truly excellent. It is very hot and humid, but the fans at night make a big difference. There were no mosquitos as it was breezy all the time and we never even saw one. The town of Shela is very friendly, and Lamu is easily accessible. We were met at the airport by someone from the house and delivered right to the pier near the front door. Very easy indeed! We were very torn between staying in historical Lamu or the more vacation orientated Shela - but I'm glad with our decision as it was essentially much more child friendly and easy to go on beach walks, completely undisturbed by the beach boys who are so prevalent in other Kenyan beach towns. We felt safe at all times in both Shela and Lamu. It is easy to arrange transport, historical walks, Dhow trips, sundowner cruisers or whatever you want to do. I would highly recommend people who have this destination on their bucket list to get there quickly before the shipping port is built, the railway arrives and the character of the place completely changes.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Self catering food prices were higher than we anticipated
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shushee
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING- A MUST FOR ANYONE VISITING LAMU”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at the Forodhani House for 4 days (12th January 2015 to 15th January 2015) and our stay coincided with the Maulidi Festival. The festival was a great indicator of how safe and peaceful Lamu is, there were lots of activities going on at the time.

The house has a great location and is absolutely beautiful. From all the bedrooms (except the ground floor room) one has an amazing view of the sea. The house is very breezy and provides the perfect atmosphere for a beach front house. The staff at the house were great... A special mention to Amos the chef whose cooking was delightful. He always surprised us with great dishes from breakfast to dinner including desserts which could easily give the best chef a run for his money.

During the booking process Isabelle Simon was very quick in responding, helpful and informative throughout our stay. She emailed us a program which helped us plan our holiday. Babu was also very punctual and good in organising our activities. The snorkelling and sundowner dhow cruise were brilliant!

On arrival a family that was staying there prior to us decided to extend their check out to after lunch. This was a bit of an inconvenience for those of us who wanted to freely explore the house and use the bedrooms. The internet (wifi) connection was non existent throughout our stay. We asked the staff a number of times as to the reason for this to no substantive response but because we were having an overall great time we were happy to overlook this.

I think i speak on behalf of the whole group (7 pax) when I say we had a great time so much so that we are already planning our reunion back at the same house. Loved it! Highly recommend the house for anyone wanting to stay in Lamu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house location, staff and overall experience
Liked least: the wifi internet connection
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing