We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A once in a lifetime experience - worth repeating”
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach. Forodhani swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Beach and Sea Views from the main lounge.
Forodhani from the sea, on the beach.
Forodhani swimming pool
The front entrance.
The main lounge, spacy.
View from all terraces.
Entrance to the dining room.
View from the dining room.
One of the double bedrooms.
The master bedroom.
Forodhani terrace on the beach
Sunset from the terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lamu Island, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louise R
Paris, France
2 reviews
“A once in a lifetime experience - worth repeating”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Forodhani Hous is a place. And it's also more than a place. The memories, the people, the way of living, the breeze. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I have already stayed twice and am planning next years trip already.

You will feel blessed at every moment, whether it's having your fresh cut mango brought to you by Francis as you watch the sea, or having drinks in the evening with a view like none you've ever seen or barbecued lobster at home.

It's tasteful, well run, comfortable, a dream, the cook is a genius. My guests all said it was the best holiday of their lives and they won't stay anywhere else! Me neither.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GingerWil...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best houses in Lamu - it just works.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

was here with my extended family - age range 10 years to 73 years - and small dog....wonderful wonderful. I have stayed in Lamu a few times now and on this trip stayed at three different houses. Forodhani was by far and away the best house I have stayed in to date. It has a small pool (for kids to cool off) its right on the waterfront overlooking the busy little pier teaming with kids showing off their diving skills. ,, 2 minutes walk form Peponis... and in the evenings even a movie projector & a good selection of classic films (we are filmmakers). ..staff are great - I know people always say that - but they really were just the right balance of attentive and discreet. Wonderful food. Lamu houses can on occasion be dark, too hot, & even unsocial they are so spread out over several floors.... This the opposite. lots of open spaces, great balcony, and lots of sun all day. the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the balcony on the waterfront
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice R
Paris, France
1 review
“A wonderful week at Forodhani House in Lamu!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I booked Forodhani House to finish up a safari in Kenya. We arrived tired hot and dusty from a quite long journey but after a warm welcome at Mokowe (where we left our car) by the charming guests relation manager, and with complimentary fresh fruit juices and an introduction to the island, we were shown the whole house. It sits just along the beach. It was perfect. The Villa is large, very well decorated, clean, with lots of little touches to make our stay comfortable. We could feel the aches and pains drift away already.
I chose Forodhani House for its stunning location beach and sea-views but here this does not mean going without luxury. All showers are spacious with copious warm water and the beds had fresh crisp linen. The food cooked by our Chef, Amos, was always delicious and well presented with ample choice. Best of all was the friendly staff from the house to the water sports staff around and to the sweet lady who gave me one of the best massage in Africa. While we were there sardins jumped out of the ocean in front of us to escape bigger fishes, quite often when we were having breakfast, we saw once a kingfish jumping in front of us too, just 100 meters from Forodhani, we went to see turtles clutches on the island just in front too ! Wonderful wildlife also here, we didn't come for it, it was a great surprise !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location, the pool, the delicious food
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Italy
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yallingup
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$466
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing