We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peponi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Andavelo House(Lamu Island)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lamu House Hotel(Lamu Island)
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stopover Guest House(Lamu Island)(Great Value!)
$107
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Kizingo(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kijani Hotel(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Manda Bay(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fatuma's Tower(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jannat House(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
205
38
7
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
38
7
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomthe ownerlamu townhotel groundsan institutionhotel guestsoystersout of this worldindian oceansashimipersonal attentionwine listmanagement teamcrabrooms are lovelyvery special placewaters edge
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 266 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This restaurant / bar has a monopoly on the island and because of this they do not try. The food here was the worst I have had in Africa and probably the most expensive. Chicken (crumby & dry) and mashed potatoes (fishy which I have an allergic reaction to) sounds easy but they made a pigs ear out of it. The service was clunky and the staff were surly and unresponsive due mainly to the fact that the owner doesn't trust them to handle money so easy transactions become drawn out affairs.

The bread here was delicious as were the samosas but certainly not worth it for the money spent.

I very rarely review in this manner. I feel obliged to warn others that are planning on proposing here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bemee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were loved and welcomed at the beautiful Hotel. I will be recommending this to everyone traveling to kenya/lamu.

Absolutely astounded by the super friendly staff, I feel like I've known them for years from how caring they were. Waited on hand and foot! Brilliant brilliant! Nothing bad to say about the whole experience. They organized guides and tours around the towns and snorkeling gear was on hand without even asking. Too many great things to compliment.

Here's some pictures on my blog! Best time of my life. Absolutely great!
http://robahern.com.au/blog/?p=287

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertAhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The location of hotel, ambience etc superb
managemnet and staff friendly and very accomodating
food good
lots of excursiosn if required and also quiet if required
best place in lamu

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naughtyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

we went for the 3th time to Lamu/Shela and it was, again, magical. Peponi is the best place to stay, the rooms are beautiful, staff is very helpfull and the food is the best I had for a long time!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I can totally recommend Peponi!!! We had booked into a house in Shela via the internet that turned out to be in a dreaful location full of mosquitos and with no railings on the 3rd floor.. totally unsuitable for our 4 year old.. hmm another story.. so moved to Peponi. It really is a haven! The location on the waterfront is so so stunning and it saved what had begun to look like a nightmare holiday. The staff were great and the management lead by Carol really work so diligently and with such charm to welcome and talk with all the guests to ensure a great holiday. Our children were so wonderfully welcomed and looked after .. from extra goggles.. to beach toys.. boogie boards.. and even some extra books from our 11 year old to read. Nothing was too much of a problem. The food really is something else.. you want to order everything on the menu.. and after a week I can safely say every single meal was a treat! I'm still dreaming of those breakfasts!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwala2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews