We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“As wonderful as they say, and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Save
You added Peponi Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As wonderful as they say, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had heard rave reviews about this hotel before our own visit in April. It lived up to the promise of quiet luxury and beauty. But it was the attention to detail and way our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience possible that made this hotel unique. The rooms are large and well appointed, with not one, but two sets of bathrobes (lighter and medium weight) made from local fabrics. There were special beach towels and wraps, plenty of filtered drinking water - including a thermos of chilled water. There were rain ponchos and a big umbrella if needed, and a swing bed on the veranda. They bring your morning coffee or tea to your room, at the time you designate - perfect if you want to take a dip in the ocean or walk on the beach before breakfast. The gardens are beautifully tended, filled with a wide array of exotic flowers. The pool is shaded by two big baobab trees. Our hosts, Carol and Andrew, were eager to give us information on making the best of our time - with valuable advice on how to take advantage of the tides, changing weather, or best ways to visit Lamu and Shela towns. They were also quick to make arrangements for us, whether it was organizing a guide to visit town, visit local ruins, or arrange for anything from a massage to a snorkeling expedition. The food is quite varied and refined. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    26
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
92
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The most wonderful place on the African coast with the most welcoming guests! We go there almost every month to escape from the Nairobi hustle, it feels very private, yet in the heart of the Lamu culture - very unique in terms of architecture and vibe. I love the Peponi food and the dhow sundowners. Situated at the beginning of the most wonderful 14km beach I have been to - Shella. If I have to choose one place in Africa to always go to - it would definitely be Peponi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Peponi hotel is magical enchanting all the clichés but that is why they are called clichés because no other word can quite describe it.
You get there by road or plane. Either way you will take a Dhow and sail to Shela Island.
It is a small boutique hotel all rooms face the sea. The decor is the Lamu wood work with touches of Morocco Riad gardens and architecture.
The hotel organises everything from massages to trips to Lamu town one of Africa’s oldest where in the past Chinese and Arab seafarers visited and traded.
The hotel is special not only for hospitality but services that can be customised.
Want to eat something that is not on the menu, get a massage or have your feet painted in henna then it will all be organised.
Explore the little village at the back of the hotel and meet its wonderful inhabitants. You might get invited to a dinner on a roof top and experience Swahili cuisine at its best, from coconut rice to fried lobster.
Life is smooth calm and easy at Peponi as you relax on the restaurant terrace taking in the sunsets or go for early morning walks along the beach . So much to do in such a serene place, the most important one being resting!

Room Tip: Do ask for the superior rooms they cost more but are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Lamu which included two nights at Peponi and can easily see us returning - hopefully for more time. We loved our stay here; the welcome was warm, the food delicious, the rooms very comfortable and the grounds beautiful. We felt well looked after and guided on the village, what to see, how to get around, how to arrange dhow rides to take advantage of the most magical sunsets ... simply a lovely place to stay and to feel spoilt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the best places I have ever stayed. Amazing setting with the best service and excellent food. Each room is very private and you feel like you are staying in your own mini villas.

Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Unbelievable location. Great people and great service. Idyllic holiday for a family break or quiet getaway. Indian ocean and east africa colonial splendour. Situated on shela beach in the old town. Beautiful food and romantic accomodation. Owner run with one of the best bars on the continent. Sundowners are an institution.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsash
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from a vacation at the peponi hotel. This is a very special place the hosts can't be more friendly. The food is superb and the service outstanding. The hotel is secluded and the beach is beautiful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.6 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Property: Peponi Hotel
Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing