We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peponi Paradise”
Review of Peponi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamu Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peponi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peponi Paradise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the best places I have ever stayed. Amazing setting with the best service and excellent food. Each room is very private and you feel like you are staying in your own mini villas.

Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    33
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
98
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Unbelievable location. Great people and great service. Idyllic holiday for a family break or quiet getaway. Indian ocean and east africa colonial splendour. Situated on shela beach in the old town. Beautiful food and romantic accomodation. Owner run with one of the best bars on the continent. Sundowners are an institution.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsash
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from a vacation at the peponi hotel. This is a very special place the hosts can't be more friendly. The food is superb and the service outstanding. The hotel is secluded and the beach is beautiful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamu Island, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had 5 fantastic days, Christmas 2012, at Peponi. A very nice and friendly place to stay. We were really taken care of, in a friendly way. Very good food, especially seafood. We'll be back! Ami, Jonas, Erik, Gustav and Olle Cronqvist

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have had a number of dinner at Peponi in the past 2 years while staying elsewhere, but this January I stayed and loved every minute of it. Their dining is an experience that is not to be missed. The owners (Carol and Lars) are at hand to receive and welcome all guests. My group was also very well handled by a hostess, Bi Juma who was very professional.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view (with Manda Island in the background) and waking up to see the sunrise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had to go to Lamu for business and stayed here. It is a really nice laid back place run by a really nice laid back British couple. The location is fantastic, looking out over the water to Manda Island. The food is sublime too, and I think one of the reasons for this place's strong reputation. Lamu itself is a lovely island, with no cars, and quite a bit of history to check out. It also has a fantastic beach and lots of other places to eat and visit. While I was there there was some windsurfing going on, from Peponi across to Manda and back, with a perfect wind. This place is not cheap, but if you want to spoil yourself I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowMotionTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great. Everything fantastic, hospitality, kindness, good food , accommodation in a beautiful room in the palm yard calm and quite, service efficient, bar full of life and interesting people.
Rates and prices are very good compared to the services offered,
We loved to stay in Peponi for 2 weeks and we are ready to come back next Christmas. Having dinner in your veranda is an experience that we suggest to anyone that want to visit Lamu.
Many many thanks to Carol, Andrew and all the staff for an unforgettable holiday!
Alessandra e Eugenio

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alemanfredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#7 of 10 in Lamu Island
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peponi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peponi Hotel

Property: Peponi Hotel
Address: Box 24, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Peponi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peponi Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing