We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kijani Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$610
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jannat House(Lamu Island)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunsail Hotel(Lamu Island)(Great Value!)
$23
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Beachfront
The Majlis Resort(Manda Island)
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Peponi Hotel(Lamu Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kizingo(Lamu Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Baytil Ajaib(Lamu Island)
Chic Retreats
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Lamu Palace Hotel(Lamu Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Petey's Island(Lamu Island)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
105
31
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
31
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerlamu townlist is endlessrooms overlookingmanda islandopen seawilson airportplace to stayan oasislobsterwonderful hoteldhow tripsperfect placeenjoyed my staypersonal touchrooms are nicethe perfect host
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 141 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2008

we've been here before and you know what is surprising?
each time this place overcomes all expectations!
sipping a lime juice in this gorgeous tropical garden waiting for the fish dinner to be served in the open air terrace after a day of relax on the endless beach is an experience each one should have at least once. being an architect I must recommend the decor, the furniture , the lighting and the ambience on top of anything else. each room is different, with large comfortable bathrooms, un-expected traditional swahili and colonial furniture and plenty of character.
if you have the chance, ask the management for a tour, you will fall in love with them all.
last but not least, the personnel is friendly and helpful (and descrete!!!) as in the best of your dreams.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pgarretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

we didn't stay at the hotel. the gardens and restaurant were a great setting. We had dinner here, and it was our most expensive dinner in Lamu, but it was disappointing. I would recommend eating elsewhere (more cheaply and tastily) even if you do stay here.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank FL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

A memorable stay in a delightful hotel. The staff were friendly and obliging - nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful room and terrace overlooking the sea with a large upper terrace too from where there were views of both the bay and the gardens. We could watch the world go by and all the activities of in the bay without even venturing from our own private space . The room was spacious and beautifully appointed in Swahili style and always kept clean - the flowers on the bed each day a beautiful touch. The grounds were well maintained and the two small pools ideal for cooling off.

The food was OK - we personally would have liked to try something more traditional and less European but that aside what we had was fresh and tasty.

Lamu island itself was a place like no other - it was like stepping back in time - no cars just donkeys, dhows and shanks pony! A wonderful change of pace.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockersconumdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Kijani is a lovely hotel with a central garden area. There are two small pools, but big enough for cooling off. The food is excellent and the service was very good. We wanted a real Swahili atmosphere for our trip to Lamu, and we really got it. Our room had beautiful and comfortable furniture, and we enjoyed the ocean view. There was a lot of activity outside, and we talked with other guests who preferred quieter rooms to the back of the hotel. The staff was helpful in arranging activities, although we had a little trouble with scuba diving.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AfricaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

We stayed in Room #1 at the Kijani House which has an amazing view and a lovely upper deck. The staff were very attentive. The food was fabulous. We ate there every night despite being tempted by other places. Many people have asked us if we had any problems travelling in Kenya due to the political crisis. We had absolutely none. If anything, due to so many people cancelling their trips to Kenya we had the place to ourselves the last 3 nights. We placed special orders for food which the chef obliged. People were willing to do anything to accommodate our every need. We took a dhow trip around Manda Island and had a fabulous snorkeling experience. Fish were caught along the way which were then cooked over a fire for lunch. It was absolutely divine. A baboon came along and watched us eat and we threw scraps to him.
We were VERY glad that we did not stay at Manda Bay which was originally recommended to us. Not only have they closed due to the politcal crisis but we heard many stories about how they treat the locals very poorly, not allowing them to enter their property even if escorting a tourist.
We went to a yoga class at Fatuma's Tower which was wonderful.
Lamu is a place like no other. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlsgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews