We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil haven enjoyed by all our family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kijani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kijani Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil haven enjoyed by all our family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed with 3 kids aged 12, 12 and 10. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Pierre the owner and his team. This is a REALLY tranquil place - the staff are lovely and the rooms were atmospheric and comfortable without being flashy. The food was simple but delicious - and the breakfast about the best I've had anywhere in the world. It poured with rain for much of our 1st day but with the huge veranda outside our room overlooking the sea this really didn't matter - we just played cards, swam in the lovely pools, ate some more and chilled.

Shella beach is 5 minutes walk, Shella village s on your doorstep and Lamu town a 40 minute walk or a short boat ride away. This is Lamu made easy - but without losing the quintessential tranquility of the place, and (unlike so many places in Lamu and Manda) without being so 'western' as to make it feel pointless having made the effort to visit this very special part of Kenya.

Room Tip: great for couples or families in need of a relaxing break
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisminor1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
41
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Wonderful hotel with a lot of service providing the little extras. Lovely atmosphere within the hotels walls and great rooms. Close to the beach and everything else you need. Also, Shela is a much nicer place to stay than in Lamu itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWide-EBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We chose the Kijani after other arrangements for our Easter getaway from Nairobi proved unacceptable. Though very busy during the holidays, the staff went to great pains to accommodate the 6 in our family which included 2 seniors and a 5 year old, even to special food requests for the child. They were life savers! We had a lovely three nights. The 2 pools, surrounding rooms, and open restaurant/bar are set in a wonderful peaceful garden with terraces and private verandas that have lovely views of the ocean. The comfortable,exceptionally clean rooms are all a bit different, beautifully decorated in traditional Lamu style. Rates were much more reasonable than other similar Shela/Lamu facilities.
Be prepared, it can get hot there and no one has air conditioning. But there are fans everywhere and of course, the ocean and the pools are the best ways to beat the heat. Transportation is by boat, foot, and donkey since autos are not allowed on the island. If you want 4 star American style chain hotel comfort, Lamu is not for you. But if you enjoy out of the way, charming, new experiences, the Kijani on Lamu is a wonderful place to be.

Room Tip: The higher rooms get more cooling ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We needed a break from the hectic life & European winter weather. Lamu & Kijani hotel was exactly what we were looking for: good food, nice decorated & quite rooms and very friendly staff. Our Room (nr 5) was very nice, whit a beautiful view on the ocean. We spend 6 nights at Kijani, starting the days with a lovely breakfast, a stroll trough the charming village to the empty beach. In the afternoon back to the village for a simple but very nice lunch at guesthouse Baitil Aman and after that relaxing in the hotelgarden at the pool. We really enjoyed the food at the restaurant of Kijani (lovely Lobster, Tajines, fish) but for a change it is also nice to go to the restaurant at Peponi as well. For a drink in the evening the Peponi hotel is nice, but we prefer to stay at Kijani because it is smaller & more intimidate. There is enough to fill the lazy days at Lamu, a 40 minute walk to Lamu Town, spend a day on a dhow etc. We loved this Island with it’s friendly people and certainly will come back to Lamu & Kijani hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeHaan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Just a wonderful wonderful wonderful place.
Kijani hôtel is well maintained, romantic and feed you so tastyfully.
It is quiet, near the seaside, in a lovely swahili island with long and blond beaches.
You should stay there as long as you can....
All your life, maybe...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babygirafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Pure heaven. This charming hotel is the best on the island (if you´re not the Peponi type of traveler). If you´re not staying here at least enjoy dinner. Try the set meny - you will not be dissapointed.

The staff are the greatest, nothing is a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessoTesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We also arrived after a hecic tour of the Kenyan game parks to relax for 5 days before heading back to Australia.
We found the the hotel Kijani wonderful.( The staff, accomodation, friendliness and food.) We thought we would try another restaurant but never did as we enjoyed the food so much!
During our stay we took advantage of the tour operators which left from the hotel. Dhow trips, city tours and a boat ride to the town centre with "Captain I'll be back."
It's good to walk to town but it was hot so it's good to catch a boat back.
Tip: While credit cards are accepted in major shops and restaurants, they are not in small shops.The bank is not that reliable so make sure you have shillings. U.S dollars would only be accepted if they had a date 2005 or after.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickysalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
2.1 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kijani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kijani Hotel

Property: Kijani Hotel
Address: PO Box 266, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kijani Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the village of Shela, on the island of Lamu – just off the Kenya Coast – Kijani Hotel offers a unique accommodation with its 3,000 sq. metres of tropical garden. Located directly at the sea front with two fresh water swimming pools. Kijani Hotel Lamu has 10 rooms spread throughout the garden into three small separate traditional Swahili buildings which formerly were private homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kijani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kijani Hotel Lamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing