We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth at Pepo House”
Review of Kizingoni Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kizingoni Beach
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth at Pepo House”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We traveled to Lamu Island as part of a group of 9 for pre-wedding celebrations of our two good friends. We stayed at Pepo house on Kizingoni beach which is approximately a 30 minute boat ride from the best airport I have ever laid eyes upon (dreamy ++).
There is something for every type of holiday maker to do here, the amazing Pepo House is a minute walk from white sandy beaches, which offer a range of activities in the bay from; wake boarding, water skiing, kite surfing (all of these activities can be booked via the house boats captain - Mo, who is an amazing teacher). to opportunities to go deep sea fishing, swimming with dolphins and snorkeling at a nearby reef in the Indian ocean, although these need to be booked through the house manager.
If you want to relax, then there are swing beds around the Pepo House pool, or over looking the bay - sunset views from here are to die for. The dhow at sundown is a opportunity that shouldn't be missed.
The staff at the house are incredible, bringing the freshest fruit and 'just caught' fish-lobster-crab to every meal (I've never eaten this healthily in my life). They also arranged a candle lit table on the beach on one of the evenings, a magical experience.
A trip into Lamu town is definitely required during a stay at Kizingoni beach, again this is taken by boat. The islands town has very narrow paths between the buildings, therefore they are unable to use vehicles, In fact there are only 2 emergency motorcars on the island, a donkey ambulance and a regular human ambulance. The main transport for carrying loads and locals are donkeys, which are everywhere. I would advise females to cover up if they are travelling to the town as it is a Muslim town. Local crafted driftwood, art and clothing can be purchased from the town shops. I will be returning here asap. the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. Thank you Lamu friends xx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieMcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Kizingoni Beach and we apologise for the late reply!

We agree with you, there truly is something for every holiday maker here!

It is always so wonderful to hear from past guests, and we hope that you will return to Lamu again soon. Lamu is still as beautiful and as safe as ever, with the minor troubles in the region happening many, many miles away from our houses.

We hope to welcome you to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naivasha, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our big group of close friends recently stayed at Jahazi house and we could not have asked for a more magical place . The beach is immense the house perfect for us . Daily trips to Lamu , Snorkeling , Hand line Fishing , Water Sking and Wake boarding was perfect way to spend your time there . The staff are truly amazing and helpful .. Sun downers on the Dunes was a perfect way to spend the last night of 2013 around a fire . Thank you to the team .. !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariq2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Kizingoni Beach and we apologise for the late reply!

New Years Eve is always wonderful when spent in Kizingoni and a truly wonderful way to welcome in the new year.

It is always so wonderful to hear from past guests, and we hope that you will return to Lamu again soon. Lamu is still as beautiful and as safe as ever, with the minor troubles in the region happening many, many miles away from our houses.

Karibu sana, very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family recently stayed at Kuni Jogoo on Kizingoni Beach. It was FANTASTIC!!. The location and villa are both very special, the staff friendly and attentive and the food delicious. There is so much to do with walks to Shella, swims to the mainland, dolphins (but book early!!) to swim with, kite surfing etc etc.

Room Tip: Kuni Jogoo particular good out of the 7 houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Kizingoni Beach and we apologise for the late reply!

It is always so wonderful to hear from past guests, and we hope that you will return to Lamu again soon. Lamu is still as beautiful and as safe as ever, with the minor troubles in the region happening many, many miles away from our houses.

We hope to welcome you to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Kizingoni Beach is by far and away the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. Approaching Pepo House by boat set the scene for the stay as the closer we got the more breathtaking it became. We were welcomed by the friendliest of staff, who treated us like old friends from the word go, and shown down the short sandy path from beach to house. The accommodation was stunning; large spacious and light rooms with gorgeous en-suite bathrooms. The outside space offers a welcoming pool flanked by the most luxurious hanging beds. The perfect place to catch some shade after lunch and read a book, total bliss. Speaking of lunch, the food was incredible. Every day we sampled the freshest fruit and fish from around the island, served with fantastic accompaniments. Mumbo did an absolutely excellent job in making sure we were well fed and watered throughout our stay. Furthermore, the range of activities on offer and the professionalism of the staff offering the activities was outstanding. We did water-skiing, wake boarding, snorkelling, swimming with dolphins, dhow sailing and yoga, all in the safest and most relaxed atmosphere. On top of this, the staff went out of their way to give us the unique experience of enjoying a candle lit meal of seafood platter on the beach. We were entertained by the magical dancing of the Kenyan Masai tribe, several of whom are employed at Kizingoni.

A massive thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable, we would absolutely love to come back and see you all soon.
I really cannot recommend this unforgettable place enough, it truly is paradise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Kizingoni Beach, and sorry for the delayed response in thanking you. We are always so happy to hear from guests and to hear that they enjoyed their stay.

We agree that the food is delicious - it is so fresh, how could it not be?!

We hope you will visit us soon - Lamu is still as beautiful and safe as ever, with no troubles anywhere near our houses and we would love to have more people come and experience the area again.

We hope to welcome you to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff at Pepo house with their discrete, friendly and unfaltering service put us in the holiday mood. The house is set a little back from the beach in beautiful tropical gardens and the rooms welcoming and immaculately kept.

For those of us who were in need of relaxation, lazing on the suspended day beds overlooking the beach at the front of the house watching the dhows slip by was exactly the tonic that was needed.

For the active there was Mo, Pepos boat captain, always on hand for morning and evening waterskiing sessions, along with snorkelling, an incredible, once in a lifetime, swim with wild dolphins and Jessica our yoga instructor, who took our classes on the roof terrace with fantastic views over the beach and water, never has warrior pose had such a beautiful and motivating outlook!!!

The food was perfect. From fresh fish and shellfish, fruit, homemade ice creams to the cake at afternoon tea it was always delicious and beautifully prepared. A couple of highlights were a magical candle lit supper on the beach of the most delicious seafood platter and sundowners on the dhow.

This place is truly wonderful and I could not recommend it more. A HUGE thank you to all the staff that made our stay so unforgettable. I shall be returning as soon as I can.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Kizingoni Beach, and sorry for the delayed response in thanking you. We are always so happy to hear from guests and to hear that they enjoyed their stay.

It is always lovely to hear what guests have been up to on their stay, and yoga is always a popular one. We are so glad you took advantage of our resident instructor - you are right, the views are perfect for a relaxing state of mind!

We hope you will visit us soon - Lamu is still as beautiful and safe as ever, with no troubles anywhere near our houses and we would love to have more people come and experience the area again.

Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is easy to run out of superlatives when describing a holiday at Kizingoni Beach. Met on arrival at the small airport opposite bustling historical Lamu town by our friendly villa boatman Mo we were whisked passed mangrove swamps teeming with birdlife the 40mins exhilarating speed boat ride to the southern tip of Lamu island where Pepo House sits in beautiful gardens sheltered by dunes. For the next 4days we enjoyed fabulous unobtrusive hospitality from the wonderful staff. The meals were amazing with delicious seafood , fruit, homemade ice creams and the all important freshly baked cake at teatime, sundowners on the roof terrace or out on the large dhow gliding silently through crystal waters. For the energetic there was daily waterskiing , swimming , snorkelling , a memorable swim with large school of dolphins and walks along the pristine beaches but for the most part it was difficult to drag yourself away from the sunbeds suspended beneath palm thatched roofs gently rocked by the warm tropical breeze - a wonderful and relaxing break,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Kizingoni Beach, and sorry for the delayed response in thanking you. We are always so happy to hear from guests and to hear that they enjoyed their stay.

It is so wonderful to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay. We hope you will visit us soon - Lamu is still as beautiful and safe as ever, with no troubles anywhere near our houses and we would love to have more people come and experience the area again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the 2nd time we've visited Kizingoni and stayed at Pepo House. The food and service are outstanding. After a few days you feel as if you are a million miles from anywhere.
The only thing that needs to be improved is that some of the furnishings and towels are looking a little tired and the internet service is intermittent at best. However it is a truly spectacular place and one I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Kizingoni Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Kizingoni Beach, and sorry for the delayed response in thanking you. We are always so happy to hear from guests, especially those who are returning to us.

Thank you for your comments about the towels. They were changed immediately after hearing your comment and are now new and fluffy again. We also apologise for the poor internet connection... We try to get guests simply to disconnect from the world when they stay, however wifi is always important to keep in touch and we have added a better dongle to the house.

We hope you will visit us soon - Lamu is still as beautiful and safe as ever, with no troubles anywhere near our houses and we would love to have more people come and experience the area again.

Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
7.4 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#5 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lamu Palace Hotel
Lamu Palace Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lamu Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kizingoni Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizingoni Beach

Property: Kizingoni Beach
Address: Kizingoni Beach, Lamu Island, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A selection of exclusive Swahili beach mansions on one of the world’s most private beaches – The Lamu Archipelago just off the Kenya Coast.The style of these Lamu Kenya properties is distinctive and places ultimate emphasis on relaxation. There are swinging day beds, shaded beach gazebos, breeze-cooled roof terraces, and cool white sofas. Each holiday house also has its own speedboat and captain, available for water sports, marine reserve exploration, BBQs on deserted islands, turtle tracking, swimming with dolphins and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kizingoni Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing