We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Subira House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Subira House
Ranked #4 of 36 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

When I think of Subira House and Lamu I long back. I want to lie in the huge bed listening at all sounds of the city. I love that there are no glass windows, that you are a part of the society. Christina and Paul Aarts are kind persons, respected at Lamu town. It's good to be there guests. Here it's eco-thinking in all aspects. The house is simple and lovely, it's easy to feel at home there. The location is perfect.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tallis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriLamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
We were happy to share the uniqueness of the old town with you!
Hope to see you back here soon!
Mama Subira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
23
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Beautiful, charming, former "rulers palace" in the center of Lamu town, still not more than 2 minutes from the seaside.
Good food and personal, friendly, welcome from and further contacts with owners (living in the hotel) and employees.
We are longing to go back !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriLamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Good to have your nice words! Welcome back to friendly Lamu!
Mama Subira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Subira House is well located in Lamu old town and just a stones throw from the market. An old palace which has been lovingly renovated and is an ideal place to stay. Airy bedrooms, plenty of open space to sit outside and friendly, helpful staff. The owners too are very friendly, helpful, hospitable and have a wealth of information about Lamu to share with their guests. Subira House is environmentally friendly and more guest houses/hotels taking the environment into consideration would be a good thing for Lamu This was a business trip for my husband, but pure leisure for me. Lamu is basically a muslim community so where ever you go or where ever you stay, the calls for prayer can be heard from the many mosques on the island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriLamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind words! Ecotourism Kenya came for a site inspection last weekend. Good to meet such competent people. We hope to qualify!
We stubbornly go on working to have a cleaner Lamu. We wish you welcome back!
Mama Subira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I've stayed here three times during the last 2,5 years.
There will be friendly noice from people passing on the narrow alleys surrounding this ancient hose. No glass windows, but metal bars and wooden shutters. The neighbour's rooster may wake you up the first morning, but eventually you'll get used to it.
The family dog may bark at you as you enter the stunningly beautiful, tiny courtyard, but it wont bite.
If you come for carefree, anonymous relaxation, this wouldn't be my first choice. But if you want to feel very safe, cared for, fed delicious food and given stories about the life on this island, while enjoying this carefully refurbished once-mansion, the Swedish-Dutch hosts and their very friendly staff will make that happen.
You wont primarily be surrounded by the type of european travellers to whom the colonial era was a golden one, as this guest house caters to a lot of aid-workers on a break, culturally interested and aware types, and Swedes with a special interest in East-Africa.
The rooms are spacious, the toilets are eco-friendly, the small terrasses are wonderful for a read and a morning coffee/evening drink and a book/conversation. Everything is very clean and carefully designed and decorated.
Here, you live in the middle of the old town life, but still secluded and with a view.
The walk to the big beach is long, but there are boats to hop on to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelletule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriLamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
A last renovation go - in the flat downstairs all ceiling beams exchanged, new walls, two new bath rooms ( one for each room). And the nice thing is the old cock at the neighbours is in heaven but the outside Lamu world is still kindly embracing you.
Mama Subira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Subira House is beautiful in its simplicity. After a day wandering the narrow, busy streets of Lamu town, Subira House offers a welcoming home to relax in. The noise of the nearby main town square and the constant movement of feet can be heard but inside you catch the breeze of the big mango tree, taste the wonderful home grown and cooked food and listen as the day moves on. I loved every minute of my time at Subira house and hope one day to return..

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sunnysopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriLamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Your words inspire us all and give us very good energy. Welcome back! Mama Subira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.4 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.1 mi away
JamboHouse
JamboHouse
#2 of 36 in Lamu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subira House

Property: Subira House
Address: Behind Lamu Fort | P.O. Box 341, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable seven-bedroom historic 200 years old home has two beautiful gardens and plenty of cool terraces to relax and enjoy the tropical breeze as you accustom yourself to Lamu's gentle pace. Right in the middle of Old Lamu Town.Meals on request.Wine licence.Subira House,a 200-year-old coral stone house was built by the governor under the Sultan of Zanzibar now carefully preserved by its Swedish/Dutch owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Subira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing