We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and eco-friendly house with a friendly atmosphere”
Review of Subira House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Subira House
Ranked #4 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and eco-friendly house with a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was an amazing place situated in a beautiful old stone house. You can feel that the owners have put their heart and soul into the place and they are very helpful looking after every detail of you stay. Each and every room is individually decorated and the boundaries between inside outside is blurred with the lovely galleries where you can have a sun down in the evening or just relax. With just a few rooms you will found the atmosphere in the house very calm and friendly and you will feel like home (or wish it was your actual home…).

The house is located only a five minutes walk from the jetty, where you will find the “taxis” (boats) taking you to the beach or wherever you want to go. You will also find many good restaurants and small shops within just a few walking minuets. I would strongly recommend having dinner at their restaurant, Karkadeh, at least one evening of your stay. Get ready for a real feast as Michael, their excellent chef, won’t let you down.

The eco-friendly concept strongly appeals to me and with eco-san toilets and the “law” of the three R’s, reduces, reuse, recycle, deeply rooted and advocated. Christina and Paul try really hard to reduce the hotels ecological footprint on Lamus’ fragile environment and hopefully their work will inspire other hotels to choose the same path.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlssonsMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
23
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Subira house is a lovely guesthouse tucked away behind the old fort in Lamu Town. My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights in June 2012. It is an environmentally aware guesthouse, with silver Eco accreditation. However, this only really meant that we had cold showers, everything else was really beautiful, with peaceful rooftop terraces where we could have a drink in the evenings. Julius and the other staff were very attentive and friendly, and couldn't do enough for us, helping us organise a beautiful dhow trip with Captain Bubu and to find find equally as nice accommodation in Shela at the StopOver Guesthouse. Lamu town felt extremely safe, even though we were almost the only tourists at this time of year!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I recently spent nine days on Lamu and had the absolute pleasure of staying in the immaculate Subira House. My decision to travel to Lamu was a hasty one. I left Nairobi in search of some peace and quiet on the coast and intended to stay only in Ukunda and Malindi before returning to Nairobi. Once on the coast however, I realized I was in search of something more and began to look into ways to get to Lamu.
Admittedly, I did have apprehensions about traveling to Lamu with the ban only recently lifted and being a white, single female traveling alone, but the idea of this island paradise with only 2 cars and 2000 donkeys enticed me too much to keep me away! I had some communication with both Paul and Christina (the owners of Subira House) voicing my concerns before I arrived and their patient, encouraging words assured me that a trip to Lamu would be exactly what I needed.
Subira House is stunning. I could not have asked for a more beautiful, peaceful and magical (for lack of a better word!) place to stay. It was an absolute joy and luxury to call my home for the nine days that I stayed there (it should be noted that my original plan was to stay for only 3 days!).
Paul and Christina are gracious and welcoming hosts and it is clear they have taken time in choosing the best staff (incredibly attentive and kind) and the best chef (the food is superbly fresh and superbly delicious).
Not once in Lamu did I feel threatened or uneasy. I was completely comfortable walking around the streets by myself and found people to be warm and welcoming. I visited during the low season (end of May) and was one of only a handful of tourists on the island. I was recognized and remembered wherever I walked, which in some circumstances would make me quite nervous, but in Lamu circumstances only made me feel safer and more at home.
I highly recommend visiting the island of Lamu and I highly recommend staying at Subira House if you do. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crilamu, Owner at Subira House, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We are so happy that you help us spread the word that Lamu is the special and wonderful place in the world for visitors to enjoy in safety and peace. So many among the Lamu people still suffer from freigtening words by journalists from last autumn. Most of us who live here know these events are other interior problems not proper kidnappings. Nothing to worry about.
Thanks for helping us and all of Lamu to survive!
Christina Aarts, manager and owner of Subira House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Shane on Lonely Planet for omitting this wonderful guesthouse in the heart of Lamu from their latest edition of Kenya. From their dhow pick-up at Manda Airport to their fabulous little restaurant, we have been captivated by the hospitality of Paul and Christina Aarts and their wonderful staff. We are almost at the end of a 2 week stay and have occupied the Top-Top Room where the cool sea breezes and water view have continued to enchant us.We have a lovely patio and lounging area outside our bedroom where we are served huge breakfasts of local fruit, homemade granola and homemade yoghurt, gorgeous omelets and freshly baked bread. If one wishes, they can dine in the small Karkadeh Restaurant on the premises by making a reservation in the morning. The chef, Michael, is an artist in the kitchen using freshly caught seafood and freshly picked vegetables and fruit to create the most amazing soups, salads, entrees and desserts. We have eaten 4 dinners here so far and have not found another place that even closely compares with Karkadeh. In the evening, our room has its own little star-gazing terrace to relax on.
In addition, the Aarts have restored the house to reflect the traditional architecture of Lamu and, at the same time, use an eco-friendly approach to the daily functioning of the house. They supply very, absorbent silk towels and use an eco-san waste system (Subira should be in Lonely Planet's "green" index). If you are coming to Lamu, go to Subira House, you will be enchanted.

Room Tip: The Top-Top Room catches all the breezes and has a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We spent too short a time in this beautiful guest house on our third trip to Lamu since 1994. We were not disappointed.

The traditional Swahili house behind the fort is tastefully renovated, its spacious rooms and terraces furnished with an eye for every detail and very clean. Exceptional kitchen, friendly service and very nice and helpful owners.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victormerten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a beautiful, peaceful house, and we were lucky to stay in the top appartment which was private, with its own balcony, and great views - very special. The decor is simple and traditional - the eco waterless toilet has inspired me to see if I could use something similar with development projects elsewhere in Africa. If you want beach and tourist modernities, you will need to go elsewhere, but if you want an intimate experience of Swahili culture, this is for you.

Lamu people are not always the friendliest to outsiders - its a traditional society and that has to be borne in mind - and ask before taking photos, but please DO NOT be put off by the security warnings about Lamu and Kenya in general. I felt perfectly safe in Lamu - its a main town with lots going on. There have been problems in more isolated locations nearer to the Somali border, and these are maybe best avoided - but Lamu has unfortunately and unjustifiably found itself lumped in with some of the reporting.

There are no cars on Lamu, only camels and donkeys. Its a way of life that is fast disappearing - maybe only Massawa old town (Eritrea), Stone Town (Zanzibar) and a handful of other places still capture the east Africa coastal culture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

...stay here! I'm not going to review Lamu, just go.

First of all, Kristina is a welcoming, knowledgable host with excellent taste. She has lived in Lamu for decades and is activelly trying to improve Lamu for everyone! If you get an offer for a night tour of the town, please don't pass it up!

She has created a wonderful oasis, with prepared local meals if you want to dine in. The rooms are spare and beautiful and she will organize airport pick up and drop off to the house, taking some of the egde of the process of haggling, standard fare that can feel threatening or just annoying if you're not used to it. The rates are reasonable even for locals. If you stay, ask for a day trip to Manda Toto. Babu and Bubu, our guides, we great too!

(They have ecologically sound Swedish toilets that don't pollute the water shed and are odorless!)

Room Tip: Top top if you wanna "splurge"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.4 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.3 mi away
Lamu House Hotel
Lamu House Hotel
#3 of 32 in Lamu Island
213 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kizingo
Kizingo
#2 of 10 in Lamu Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subira House

Property: Subira House
Address: Behind Lamu Fort | P.O. Box 341, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable seven-bedroom historic 200 years old home has two beautiful gardens and plenty of cool terraces to relax and enjoy the tropical breeze as you accustom yourself to Lamu's gentle pace. Right in the middle of Old Lamu Town.Meals on request.Wine licence.Subira House,a 200-year-old coral stone house was built by the governor under the Sultan of Zanzibar now carefully preserved by its Swedish/Dutch owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Subira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing