We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food in a great atmosphere”

Moonrise Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This a very good restaurant in Lamu. The fish is coming straight from the sea and is prepared by the Belgian chef Frank. All the dishes we had during our stay were excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We made a reservation for dinner. Special my friend is very interested in taraab music and is interested in seeing the musicians playing.
We were sitting half an hour when the musicians started. However, we could not see them, because they were sitting outside. Also 2 local guys were "dancing" in front of the musicians and singing very loud. After a little while the owner of Lamu House past our table and asked us if we enjoyed the evening. By that time we didn't have any food yet. We told him that it was okay so far, but that we were a bit disappointed that we couldn't see the musicians and because of the 2 noisy local guys also hardly could hear the musicias.
From that moment the owner started yelling at us and told us we better leave the restaurant, as we, in his opinion, didn't like local people and he couldn't help such people like us.

It was a very strange attitude, special from an owner of such an expensive place, walking around in sort of underpants, and talking to 2 of his guests, who both live over 10 years in this area and know and respect the Swahili culture very well.

This owner doesn't have any respect for the musicians, letting them sit outside where 2 guys are dancing in front of them as if they are in a disco.

After the owner told us to leave the restaurant we did obvious. We had a great dinner in an other restaurant, for less then half of the price, but where we were treated as normal human beings and not as outcast.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple fare but tasty”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We enjoyed trying new dishes each day and were particularly fond of the seafood. Service was excellent

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFrances3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet evening spot, nice food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were in Lamu during the Cultural Festival, and went here on our last night when there were less people around. The food is really good - we had tuna which was delicious, if a little too much! Good value, quiet, and as others have said a nice view of this end of the waterfront.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlowMotionTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmthout, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best food in Lamu Town”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed as guests in Lamu House Hotel for one month in November (this was our second stay) and we had breakfast, lunch and dinner EVERY day at the Moonrise Restaurant (part of Lamu House Hotel).
Every day fresh (sea)food with lots of variation : salads, pasta's, fantastic tuna (the carpaccio !!!!) and crab dishes, homemade fish-fingers, different vegetables (super avocado), soups,....etc etc.
And the fries were much better than the original ones in Belgium !
Friday-evening dinner is a real culinary experience, with live traditional Lamu-music on the background.
The restaurant is small and cosy, with shade and great views of the water and the daily life on the quay. The service is friendly and personal.
A real moment of peace and quiet during a visit to Lamu Town.
You will not find a better place !!!
We will be back in November 2014 : tickets already booked : can't wait !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdithDeNef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonrise Restaurant also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Moonrise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing