We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay - short or long term - in Lamu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JamboHouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JamboHouse
Ranked #1 of 32 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - short or long term - in Lamu”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

JamboHouse was a great place to stay in Lamu, and as I hope to return to Lamu in the future, I'd definitely stay there again! I stayed for 3 nights, but would have loved to extend my stay had I not needed to go back to work. Arnold, the owner, was incredibly helpful organizing tours and suggesting restaurants. Despite staying in Lamu during Ramadan I never had trouble finding places to eat because of his numerous suggestions. JamboHouse was clean, incredibly accessible (less than 10 min walk to Lamu Fort, and very convenient for exploring Old Town), and very affordable. Highly recommended if you want to feel like you're staying in Lamu and not just a typical tourist passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheRoad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Lamu IS a unique place and we help our guests to have a great experience in Lamu. Also myself, after four years now, I still like Lamu so much. Lamu is also a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi (easy to reach by bus or by plane). We are looking forward to have you as our guest again. All the best & see you soon again. Greetings from JamboHouse-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
56
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World trip
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

JamboHouse is a great guest house on Lamu. The owner is extremely friendly, the guest house is nice and small (only 5 rooms), breakfast is great, the rooms are clean, and the rooftop is a great place to relax. The wi-fi connection is a great plus, as internet is not widely available on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I realized you really enjoyed your stay at JamboHouse and on Lamu Island. We wish you all the best and do enjoy your trip (I'm really jealous!!). Best greetings from Arnold, Damaris and Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west covina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A very short walk from the "Main Street" and the water front Jambo House is the best bed and breakfast on the island. It is exceptionally clean, the rooms are spacious and well appointed (night stand with a reading lamp) and the hospitality makes you feel right at home. Arnold, the owner, is there to help you in any way he can. Even before my trip he patiently answered all my e-mail questions. His staff, Damaris and Adam, are also equally friendly and helpful. Damaris makes some beautiful jewelry which she is happy to share with you. Arnold can organize many interesting excursions on the island and I would highly recommend a dhow trip as well as a meal with a local Swhaili family. Booking through Arnold is more economical and avoids hassling with the local beach boys. In addition to the great rooms Jambo House has a lovely upper deck where breakfast is served and where one can read or just enjoy the rooftop view as well as the early morning and late afternoon calls to prayer. I was a solo traveler and could not have been happier with my stay in Lamu thanks to Jambo House.

Room Tip: Upper floor maybe quieter and the "Lamu" room has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Myself, I travelled to all parts of Kenya so I can give our guests plenty of informations about other places to visit or to stay. The people I work with (dhow captains, tour guides and other services) are all very nice and reliable people who I know since a long time. So, when I organize something for our guests (or recommend something) I'm sure our guests have a great time.
We are happy to had you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best & greetings from JamboHouse-Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Jambo House had everything to offer that one was hoping for: A spacious clean room/bathroom, amazing breakfast, and the hospitality that makes you feel like staying at a friends place rather than a hostel. The team does their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, by picking you up at the jetty as well as showing your way across town. All in all you couldn't wish for a better place to stay and I can't wait to get back there as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandoGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed staying with us. We hope you could manage it to come back to Lamu & JamboHouse soon again. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a truly excellent bed and breakfast and our experience there was fantastic. The owner is involved and very attentive and wants to make sure that your stay is perfect. We were picked up from the main jetty by the owner himself and escorted to the hotel. He then gave us a great deal of information regarding restaurants and sight seeing. We booked three excursions through him and we were very impressed. We went on a dow/snorkling trip and had lunch on the boat. Our lunch was fish that was caught while we were snorkling and cooked on the boat! Delicious! We also got a town tour whch was informative, but not a historical tour by any means. Then on our last night we went for dinner at a local persons house which was delicious and culturally interesting. All of these excursions were booked through Jambo house and were very economical and everything that was said to be included was. We had a great time at Jambo house, I have not received such attention, even in five star hotels I have stayed at!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, the bottom ones look directly into the lanes, so they lack privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Lamu and at JamboHouse. Regarding our rooms on the ground floor, every window has shutters to close them and there is also a curtain. Myself, I'm also staying in one of the rooms on the ground floor, so I don't think there's lack of privacy.
We wish you a Happy New Year, all the best, and maybe you have the chance to come again to Lamu and be our guest at JamboHouse.
ARNOLD with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lamu itself and Arnold`s hospitality made us come back to Lamu and Jambo House for a second time within a year. Jambo House offers all amenities one can ask for while traveling: tasty breakfast including fresh juice and fruit, very clean rooms, extra beach towels, beautiful location in the old part of the town only a 4min walk to the seafront with all the shops and reasonable restaurants serving all local delights, plenty of useful information to make the most of your stay. Arnold and his 2-men-team are always friendly, helpful and provide that small bit of extra service which will make your stay in Lamu unforgetable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graf_jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Happy New Year and Thank you for your review. Lamu is a fascinating place and we try to make the stay for our guests in Lamu and at JamboHouse as memorable as possible. JamboHouse-Team wishes you all the best and we hope to see you again. Thank you for choosing JamboHouse again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Arnold is a true gentleman and the best host we have ever had on any of our travels anywhere ( and we have travelled a lot). His crew treat the hotel as their home and the guests as their family. The rooms are clean and spacious. It must be said that because of the location close to the mosque, it can be loud, but this just adds to the authentic feel of the city. The breakfasts were fantastic-- fresh, hot and cooked and served personally, with plenty of variety. Our compliments to cooks Adam and Arnold. Prices of drinks in the self-service rooftop bar were better than any other place in town. Arnold can suggest and arrange any type of tour, and his prices are very reasonable. We especially enjoyed the sunset cruise, with a sumptuous seafood feast cooked on over a fire on Manda Island-- a real treat. Really, this hotel is one of the true " Little Gems" of the world. Do not miss it if you plan to visit Lamu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Lamu and JamboHouse. I really love travelling so much and it was (and still is) very important to me. So I really try to make the best out of the stay for our guests. It's a long journey for you to come to Lamu but we hope you could make it again. Lamu is a special place! All the best, ARNOLD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamu Island
0.3 mi away
Jannat House
Jannat House
#4 of 10 in Lamu Island
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kijani Hotel
Kijani Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lamu Island
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majlis Hotel
The Majlis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manda Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Pepper House
The Red Pepper House
#6 of 10 in Lamu Island
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Banana House & Wellness Centre
0.1 mi away
Subira House
Subira House
#4 of 32 in Lamu Island
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JamboHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JamboHouse

Property: JamboHouse
Address: PO Box 131, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In JamboHouse we provide in our 5 friendly in Lamu Style furnished rooms an enjoyable stay at reasonable rates. All our rooms (with mosquito net & ceiling fan) have private bathrooms. JamboHouse is ideally located to explore the Old Town of Lamu. From there it’s just a three minute walk through narrow lanes to Town Square with Lamu Fort. When you book JamboHouse we wait for you at the airport or at the bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your JamboHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing