We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and nice view”

Peponi Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Lamu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice view”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The bar at the Peponi is the local hang-out in Shela. Visitors and guest mingle there from dusk until very late. Dinner is best at the terrace, overlooking the channel and if the tide is high, hearing the waves on the wall. I like the seafood linguini and the semifreddo, but all dishes are exquisite.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_em_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gin and tonic - great ambiance don't come for free”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great place for a sundowner with the posh English crowd, after a hot day at Shela beach. The sushi we tried was below average (ok, what to expect .. it just seemed too tempting). Stiff pricing, so we skipped the main courses.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Upmarket”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were over from Manda Island for the day, looking for a place for lunch. We walked in without paying too much attention before realising we were a lot more sweaty an under-dressed than everyone else there. I think that's why we got a quiet corner! I had to check my wallet after looking at the menu, not that it was overpriced, still cheap by UK standard in fact but dearer than most establishments on Lamu. Food was excellent though and the waiting staff were friendly, well turned out and efficient.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharps19ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere, food is ok”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I love Peponi, the bar is nice and the atmosphere is really lovely. All these people to meet, locals and visitors, you'll feel at home within an hour. Beautiful view, the beach, the see, the dhows, absolutely lovely.
The food is like the better ordenairy places in my hometown. Same price too. It is the environment and the very friendly helpfull staff that makes the food just there in Shela, very special. It is food like at home in a wonderful setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“excellent - you get what you pay for”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed in a guest house around the corner, We used to go for a sundowner at Peoni and ate there twice, once at lunch and once at dinner. The food was great and worth the extra in comparrison to other places to eat in Lamu/ Shella.

The front of house lady / owner was friendly and the staff attentive. Thoroughly enjoyable.
The only bad thing was in the evening we were sat inside as all the outised tables were reserved and we were the only ones so their was no atmosphere . Everyone else was outside balcony overlooking the beach. The lunch time were outside so it was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TulipCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peponi Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 
Lamu Island, Coast Province
Lamu Island, Coast Province
 

Been to Peponi Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing