We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chain restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Ristorante

Mediterraneo Ristorante
Ranked #38 of 479 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante at The Junction is a secluded yet lively spot, bringing the shopping centre's vibrant, modern atmosphere together with a quaint Italian décor and - of course - excellent food. This branch features two floors, each with al fresco dining areas, perfect for a quick lunch, a long meal to catch up with friends or a romantic evening date. Our Junction branch also boasts some unique special offers, allowing you to enjoy more of the authentic Italian experience we strive to recreate.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

hard to find hundred words...
is exactly what you expect from a chain restaurant. everything average.
I got a pizza, not too bad not too good.
beer just average choices.
my guest ate chicken. she wasn't impressed too.
price average too...
one think I did not like was the distance between tables. too close. having quite noisy people around in this city... is not what you really want.
if starving I will be back.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    94
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chef'd day off?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was really a disappointment. We been told good stuff bout the place so it may be better usually or have been at some point.

The place looks ok, one of the many italian wannebe's. Atmosphere seemed good.
The owner probably knew what he was doing when he made the place, before he got into some kind of careless stage.

Service average. Waiters seemed tired and with very little knowlegde when we asked about the menue. The didnt pay any attention to us except the most needed as bringing menues, drinks, food etc.

Food was served fast. To fast for a chef to deliver proper food, and we soon realised why.
The chicken breast was beaten until very thin and unrecogniseable. Like a thick paper. Then grilled until totally dry and tasteless. To cover the bad preparing it was totally covered under enourmeus amounts of tasteless sauce. We also ordered lamb that was so dry that u could break the slices as it was chips.
The lamb was also old. I meen really old. The parts off it that didnt have chips consistence was crumbling in our mouths
It had obviously been warmed several times.
At arrival we where extremely hungry, but we just couldnt manage to eat the food.

The waiters was probably aware of the kitchen situation because the avoided all our attempts of getting their attention until we signalized that we wanted to pay.
We then told our disappointment but got no other response than a sorry. Not even an explanation or a coffe offer. In the end we went home and made a nice dinner ourself. We just managed to cook it until the vomiting and diareea started...

I sincerely have to recomend ppl to stay away from this place until the management starts to care again.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frikk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good Food, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we went for a nice evening outing in December 2012 for a great dinner, the Staff welcomed us very friendly, took us to a nice clean table, and when the waiter could not answer my questions, about my special diet requests, he called the supervisor, who then went himself several times to the cook to ensure all is done as needed. The food was delicious and can only recommend to any fellow travelers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank slofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“NEVER spend Valentine's Day here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

So we went there to celebrate Valentines day. Here's how it went - Service was Terrible! it felt like we were in a market place!! the waiters were shouting all over the place, our orders were mixed up, the food took close to 1 hour to arrive - this is just the starter! on top of that you had to spend 5,000ksh even if your bill wasn't amounting to that! a little piece of information that the SHADY black eye pencil wearing lady at the front desk did not tell us because she was too busy trying to sell tables at whatever cost.

The quality of the food is always great. we visit Medi - junction almost every week BUT now we know NEVER to go there on special occasions like Valentines!! only on regular days

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissKyambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naivasha, Kenya
2 reviews
“Overated,expensive and boring!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to mediterraneo several times at the junction branch but decided to try their new branch in GIgiri recently,they were not packed but that could have been because it was only 7.30 pm,the menu keeps growing and the specials are ridiculously expensive and not worth the money! Our food took ages to come,must say they have a great choice of wines which kept us busy. The food was average,lambchops were very tough and the portion was small,fish did not seem to be fresh. We would definately not go back again soon,they need to pull up their socks and review what they are charging customers for a very average meal.We all felt that a smaller menu would do better and serve better!by the way the parking here is terrible too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing