We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated,expensive and boring!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterraneo Ristorante

Mediterraneo Ristorante
Ranked #40 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante at The Junction is a secluded yet lively spot, bringing the shopping centre's vibrant, modern atmosphere together with a quaint Italian décor and - of course - excellent food. This branch features two floors, each with al fresco dining areas, perfect for a quick lunch, a long meal to catch up with friends or a romantic evening date. Our Junction branch also boasts some unique special offers, allowing you to enjoy more of the authentic Italian experience we strive to recreate.
Naivasha, Kenya
2 reviews
“Overated,expensive and boring!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to mediterraneo several times at the junction branch but decided to try their new branch in GIgiri recently,they were not packed but that could have been because it was only 7.30 pm,the menu keeps growing and the specials are ridiculously expensive and not worth the money! Our food took ages to come,must say they have a great choice of wines which kept us busy. The food was average,lambchops were very tough and the portion was small,fish did not seem to be fresh. We would definately not go back again soon,they need to pull up their socks and review what they are charging customers for a very average meal.We all felt that a smaller menu would do better and serve better!by the way the parking here is terrible too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    94
    26
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always try to make it here when i am in Nairobi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Atmosphere is great, staff well trained, food excellent, wine choices great....and always great to finish off with lemon sorbet. Ive never had a bad meal here whether two of us or a group.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank idreamofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a number of times at its Junction location. The food was excellent , plenty of choice. Good selection of wines and excellent staff. Recommended and better than the nearby Art Caffe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Mediterraneo is one of my very favourite restaurants in Nairobi. I visit on almost every trip to Kenya. The cuisine is Italian, with a specials menu that changes periodically. I almost always choose pasta (and sometimes a starter) from that menu, and have never been disappointed. Their chocolate mousse is the best anywhere. I often order two, one to take away. (Don’t be surprised at being charged a small sum for a take-out box, not uncommon in East Africa.)

The restaurant’s atmosphere is a bit old-school, which I like. The upstairs is larger and, therefore, noisier. There’s also a smaller downstairs dining area inside plus a terrace. I prefer the four or so tables near the stairs, which are quieter and more intimate. Service is generally good, although I did have one bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an Ok place in Nairobi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in one of the main malls of Nairobi. The settings are beautiful. The food is average, in relation to the restaurants history, but the service is wanting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing