We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always try to make it here when i am in Nairobi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo Ristorante

Mediterraneo Ristorante
Ranked #46 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterraneo Ristorante at The Junction is a secluded yet lively spot, bringing the shopping centre's vibrant, modern atmosphere together with a quaint Italian décor and - of course - excellent food. This branch features two floors, each with al fresco dining areas, perfect for a quick lunch, a long meal to catch up with friends or a romantic evening date. Our Junction branch also boasts some unique special offers, allowing you to enjoy more of the authentic Italian experience we strive to recreate.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always try to make it here when i am in Nairobi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Atmosphere is great, staff well trained, food excellent, wine choices great....and always great to finish off with lemon sorbet. Ive never had a bad meal here whether two of us or a group.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank idreamofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    103
    29
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a number of times at its Junction location. The food was excellent , plenty of choice. Good selection of wines and excellent staff. Recommended and better than the nearby Art Caffe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Mediterraneo is one of my very favourite restaurants in Nairobi. I visit on almost every trip to Kenya. The cuisine is Italian, with a specials menu that changes periodically. I almost always choose pasta (and sometimes a starter) from that menu, and have never been disappointed. Their chocolate mousse is the best anywhere. I often order two, one to take away. (Don’t be surprised at being charged a small sum for a take-out box, not uncommon in East Africa.)

The restaurant’s atmosphere is a bit old-school, which I like. The upstairs is larger and, therefore, noisier. There’s also a smaller downstairs dining area inside plus a terrace. I prefer the four or so tables near the stairs, which are quieter and more intimate. Service is generally good, although I did have one bad experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an Ok place in Nairobi...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located in one of the main malls of Nairobi. The settings are beautiful. The food is average, in relation to the restaurants history, but the service is wanting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atmosphere and a variety of different dishes - the different fish dishes are excellent, as well as the lamb chops - perfectly tender and tasty! Yum :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HealthRetreatsAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mediterraneo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing