We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hashmi`s Restaurant

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 511 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The barbecue chicken is flavored with ginger, garlic and cooked on a charcoal.. definitely yum. I would recommend it. Its not about the decor its about the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    100
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, with wide range of barbecues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Hashmi is a very popular restaurant amongst the Nairobi Asian community though these days a wide variety of others frequent the well situated Resaturant including Somalis, Arabs and few others.
The food is served very well by all means and tastes just as one would delight.
The staff are good & well trained for their strenuous job.
Those planning to go there at rush hours should expect to wait for tables to get empty as its really packed during those times.
Price is slightly high, but the excellence of food is also high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Serves HALAL Food in Nairobi - Affordable Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The biggest plus of the place is that it serves Halal food and a Barbecue to Pakistani / Indian taste. I visited this place with office colleagues on our first evening in Nairobi.

It is a casual dining place with average ambiance. I found the place to be a little pungy. However, the food was nice (not the best). We had Chicken Tikka, Chops, Kababs, Mutton Tikka, Cheese Paratha & Kulfi. Other than Chops & Kulfi all the items were quiet nice.

On the whole, the prices were also very affordable compared to what we had seen online for other places. We ended up paying KSH 5200 (US$65) for 4 people (& we order one dish too much).

I may not go to the place for its average ambiance, but we do plan for ordering deliveries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST BARBEQUE PLACE IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Their food is great, whether its mixed grill or just the Naan, their quality and quantity of their food is superb. I especially loved the mixed grill dish which is quite a lot for one person. The ambiance is great and on weekends, one need to either make a booking or get their early so as to get a seat. Yes, it's that packed on weekends...that just goes to show how great their food is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

the food presentation was amazing, staff friendly and polite, food very spicy and tasty just the way i like it.,:)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank naima764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing