We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chooza rules!”

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Chooza rules!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Been a few times in the last 6 months and food always good. Decor and ambiance is on the basic side but you go for the food. You have to have the Chooza chicken (whole chicken done in a tandoori served with chooza sauce) problem is that they only have a set number of portions per night so you have to order early. The ice cream is also damned good...

Helpful?
Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    113
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delectable BBQ!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always enjoyed going to Hashmi's ..doesn't matter what time it was. They have scrumptious menu. The one important thing they can improve on, is the ambiance. Needs a major makeover.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonal_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“they let me down”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

i dragged my friends there thinking it will be just as good as it was four years ago but sorry its just the name .. they let me down

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rhymes l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“CHIPS MASALA”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Am thinking of kidnapping the guy who makes their chips masala and the tamarind sauce! am drooling as I type...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank paula k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Tikas”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are in the know of what a Kenyan chicken tika is, then this is one of the places you should go to in Nairobi.

Chicken tika has evolved from North Indian Punjabi tandoori chicken yet in Kenya we do it differently. And if I may say so myself, we do it better!

Chargrilled spicy marinated chicken served with shredded salad, tamarind sauce, coconut chutney and hot sauce, accompanied by naan. The chicken is very good, eventhough my favourite in Nairobi would be at Shabana. The naan, as with all tika places, is not a real Punjabi naan, rather thick white flat bread, but it goes well together. Add an order of mix (kebabs and mishkaki) as well as masala chips and you've got a glorious feast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing