We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best chooza chicken !”

Hashmi`s Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the best chooza chicken !”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

nothing comes close to hashmis chooza chicken! its the best i ve ever had.
ve it extra hot if ur daring enuf.. othrwys stick to mild.
the kebab rolls are very delicious and filling.. a good take away option .
if ur visitng nairobi this is one plce u shd def try out

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANBAR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    114
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Probably the best Tandoori takeaway I've ever come across.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The " Chooza Chicken " was a revelation. We had the Tandoori Tilapia as well which was pretty decent too. While we waited , we had a quick beer at the bar across the corridor. ( where the service was pretty quick and pleasant as well).
As we meet various people in Nairobi, we realized that Hashmi's was pretty much the standard s. Asian food was judged by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Tandoori Chickens anywhere in the world”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have lived most of my life in Delhi and Lucknow, and have eaten my share of amazing kebabs, tandooris and mughlai food; and despite that the Chicken Chooza at Hashmi's was not only gloriously, unexpectedly delectable; but was comparable to the best anywhere. The tikka sauce was wonderfully hot and spicy, and the spring chicken was what spring chicken should be. Congratulations to Hashmi's for transporting a corner of Asia in a foreign land.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivekvikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you go for Fish was brilliant healthy prepared
Tandooris are good
Nans are little crispy
Standard seating, avoid inside rare of the restaurant lacks bit of fresh air. Food is quite good, slightly above average price for these type of restaurant. Mind you hygiene standards are low.
Any day is a busy day. Parking good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fresher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Superb food but not your usual tourist attraction. The restaurant is always full of locals which is always a good sign.

The food is excellent, the best kebabs and tandoori you will get. No alcohol is served. Well worth a visit for lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hashmi`s Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hashmi`s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing