We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stuff, amazing customer services, and delicious food, clean rooms!!”
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
Ranked #117 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“nice stuff, amazing customer services, and delicious food, clean rooms!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of the city, no lot of space outside, but generally ok.
The hotel standard is fair for the value of money.. i was right outside the hotel where there is a bus terminal, arrived from Tanzania, did not know anywhere in Nairobi and was a bit late, so, i just thought let me try this place, it was amazing the way i was welcomed and the inside looks better than the way one would look it from the outside.
I stayed there for two nights and three days.
it is not bad really.

Room Tip: Well. just ask for a visit, but upstairs rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachlyimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    33
    13
    19
See reviews for
9
28
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

For a budget trip, Kipepeo is fine with very friendly front desk..nice room service..laundry. It is located right in the City Centre (excellent) but it could get very noisy outside yet fun for those who enjoy the night life.The room I stayed in was very small and it had mosquitoes but they had mosquito nets and would disinfect on request. Very friendly staff and taxi guys. The real issues (just 2) I had with the hotel was that the my room was on the last floor...if you got back from work tired, it would take you ages to get to your room..(no lift) and the internet signal was weak in my room...I understood their challenge but they were willing to take me to a better room..they've got listening ears though. In summary if I visit Nairobi again..I just might stay in Kipepeo....(Oh I almost forgot..for your own good/safety, they wouldn't allow you bring up ladies to the rooms but if you insist, they must have and deposit a valid ID at the front desk...kinda nice...plus they are very security-conscious..nice too)

Room Tip: Prefer rooms not overlooking the main street and please don't stay on the topmost floor..except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egwumba U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varied
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I splashed out on Kipepeo at the end of my last trip to Nairobi, where I usually stay at a budget place closeby. Kipepeo is solidly in the 3 star bracket with clean and nicely decorated rooms. Rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the small side but in line with room sizes elsewhere in downtown.

Staff were helpful and their restaurant is reasonably priced with good buffet and juices. Note that this hotel is in DOWNTOWN Nairobi, which some overseas visitors may find hectic. The hotel is ideally placed for transit and arrival/departure by bus. Note that rates can get expensive in high season.

Room Tip: Rooms either face into the atrium or to the main street but windows are reasonably sound proofed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotteuse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for one night: after an evening arrival needed a place to spend the night before the safari.
The hotel is located somewhere in the center, but in a small, narrow street.
Did not have the desire to walk, so the dinner went to Carnivore.
The room is small, do not turn around a couple times.
Tiny bathroom, no towels.
For cleanliness - all mediocre.
Breakfast is more than modest, but we load up and there were not going :)
In general: very budget option for an overnight stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Juba, South Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I always have a transit through Nairobi and look out for Hotels where I can sleep sound and catch my morning flight fresh.

This Hotel was good in that sense. Though a little noisy because of the restaurant downstairs but the noise dies down or may be I was too tired to hear it!!. The room was small but I had a very comfortable bed and heated water in the shower which mattered most.
The staffs were extremely friendly and helpful.The breakfast was ready at 5:30 in the morning and the staff insisted me to have it and leave the hotel, which was sweet and quite professional.

I would recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandan_Nayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just came back from the Hotel Kipepeo,i was there for 17 days,the hotel is in the centre of everything you want,supermarkets,shopping centre,the transports,the banks are close by,bars,clubs,restaurants,the staff was amazing so friendly,helpful,very organised,cleaning excellet,food excellent,room service excellent,i would suggest this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we were ther for our last night in nairobi.

the location is ok, not too good and not bad (ask for room not facing to the street).

the room was very clean and very modern (seems like they renewed lately).

very good experiance...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#89 of 164 in Nairobi
48 reviews
Kima Hotel
#127 of 164 in Nairobi
30 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#73 of 164 in Nairobi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#74 of 164 in Nairobi
212 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#101 of 164 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#131 of 164 in Nairobi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Property: Hotel Kipepeo
Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipepeo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing