We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“worst hotel to live” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kipepeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kipepeo
Ranked #104 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“worst hotel to live”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

being denied justice by security , last night was a hell of a night to me , the security are corrupt ,they lied in ;police station just to gain money from yesterday night , \ i assure you guest to Kenya to book in Serena , and other big hotel to be safe . thanks

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kihii k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    32
    13
    18
See reviews for
9
28
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The area is So bad that its NOT SAFE to walk outside without a security guard. However when you are inside its ok. I ordered a superior room and got a basic room without the things I was promised ie a kitchenette, separate dining room and only sport on tv (no movies or cable). The rubbish mosquito net that didn't work! + was noisy and basic.
The restaurant was ok and was delivered to your door for no extra charge, but they didn't have everything available. You can't drink the water there and they provide water in your room. However I did ring 5 times to get them to send more and this was frustrating. The view was ugly.
*Don't trust the hotel's taxi drivers, he tried to rip me off.

Room Tip: They say that if you want a superior room, you have to ask for a specific room number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

hotel kipepeo is a 3 star hotel that have all the facilities of most major 4 start hotels. their rooms are clean, their staff are very friendly and they offer very good services all round. they offered B&B, although they should improve on that. the hotel is situated downtown but has pretty good security that advice you on movement. over all i recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a low budget accommodation in the city centre as it is situated not far from the central business area.

Room Tip: if you are the type that loves to use the internet, wi fi, go for the room on the ground floor, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited Kenya on business and stopped overnight in Nairobi on the way in and out of the country. I stayed at the Hotel Kipepeo on both occasions and can recommend it if you're looking for a safe, clean and budget place to sleep. The staff provided a very high level of service, including effectively resolving a minor mix-up with my booking, which I'd made online less than 48 hours before arriving.

The location is ideal if you want to be in the centre of the city and, contrary to others' comments, this is a safe place to stay. Unfortunately, the fact the some inexperienced travellers simply 'feel' unsafe in unfamiliar situations has nothing to do with the real security situation and is definitely not a reason to downgrade the review of the Hotel. None of the earlier reviews actually provide any evidence for their negative comments concerning security. I walked around alone at night and felt completely safe.

Unlike many more modern Hotels, it's possible to open the windows to allow in fresh air. Moreover, there are very effective fitted mosquito nets suspended above the beds so you don't have to worry about being bitten at night. I slept in a room at both the front and the back of the Hotel. The back room was certainly quieter and had a good view out over the city, but I had no problem getting a refreshing sleep in the front room too.

I found a very reliable Taxi Driver who is attached to the Hotel. I used him on several occasions and, with a bit of bargaining, he provided a very efficient and reliable service. His name is Izac Mairani and his mobile number is: +254 722 445 964.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on the higher floors are quieter and have a good view over the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swiftsnatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

room was average clean with a good price. the surrounding environment was kind of messy and not very safe during night, but as long as you don't go out alone.... a nice supermarket right next to the hotel. many "white people" stay here for transition during safari. for my experience, i received GREAT help from the reception on connecting my trips! strongly recommend! (a little noise though, just a little)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Don't stay here. Check the rooms before you pay. The room are extremely small. you have only a few fewer between the wall and the bed. The rooms are not very clean. We were pushed into this hotel by a cab driver when we arrived early in the morning tired and exhausted. This was not the hotel we wanted to stay at but it appears the the cab driver was getting kick backs for our stay. The driver said the hotel we wanted to stay at was full. After a short nap and a bad breakfast at the hotel restaurant we checked out and booked a room at the original hotel we wanted to stay at. I would rate my experience as terrible and recommend that you first check the room before paying.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcomarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, MP, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

It is a very good value for money hotel. It's in Central Business District so its close to KICC, etc.The staff, all of them - Winrose, Shilla, Chris, Mark, Evans, Felix, Lucy, etc etc.., are amazing! Thanks for making our stay great. They are very helpful. We stayed there from March 27 - April 6th and had no problems there. The restaurant downstairs is nice with some live performances in the week. Breakfast, I personally felt was okay. Could be better! I did like their masala chips though.

One negative though is that it is located on River Road, and at night it's not safe to venture out walking by yourself. Hence, you have to take cabs which can hurt your pocket. But then again, we had a cab hired all day till late night everyday of our stay there as we went for business so had to travel around, hence, for us we never had any issues.

All and all, great staff, good rooms, value for money.

Room Tip: Room 51. Its spacious than other rooms and is on the backside, hence quiet. Although its on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masandrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#83 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#107 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#116 of 156 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Kima Hotel
#84 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kipepeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kipepeo

Property: Hotel Kipepeo
Address: River Rd, opposite bank of africa next to eastmatt, Nairobi 75362, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kipepeo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kipepeo is the flagship of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels, all offering accommodation and services at budget prices, comprising Hotel Kipepeo and Hotel Mariposa, both situated in the rapidly growing downtown section of Nairobi, while Kipepeo Avenue House is located in the heart of Nairobi's Central Business District.Hotel Kipepeo comprises 56 letting rooms which may be booked online, bar and a la carte restaurant. It is five minutes' walk from the Central Business District.All rooms are equipped with power showers and mosquito netting, computerised door locks, digital safes,satellite tv and CCTV enhanced security.Reception operates 24 hours and free wi-fi internet is available. The restaurant offers both international and local cuisine.The hotel has partnered with Spanish Express Coach services, offering a direct service to Mombasa which may be booked from within the hotel. The coach departs daily from the front of the hotel.Hotel Mariposa is situated five minutes' walk away from Hotel Kipepeo. It comprises 16 letting rooms and full bar and restaurant services. Free wi-fi internet is available.Hotel Mariposa also provides all the conference facilities of the Kipepeo Group of Hotels through several halls ranging from small meetings to major presentations. All halls are equipped with full digital screen services and any specialised equipment needed may be ordered in advance.The hotel also offers small lounges for hire for private meetings, with dedicated waiter service.In house manicure and pedicure services are offered on selected days of the week.Hotel Mariposa has partnered with Spanish Express Coach Services to Mombasa. The coaches, which may be booked at Hotel Kipepeo, depart from outside Hotel Mariposa.For guests staying at Hotels Kipepeo and Mariposa but working in the Central Business District, Kipepeo Avenue House offers full restaurant services and business lunches at competitive prices. Free wi-fi internet is available.Avenue House is situated opposite the New Stanley Hotel on Kenyatta Avenue.All three Kipepeo Hotels offer a changing mix of live entertainment on a nightly basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Kipepeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing