We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great option.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #8 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great option.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My sister said it was the only decent coffee she had when she was in Kenya. We ended up eating there a lot for lunch on her coffee runs. The tomato soup was fantastic. We usually ended up having a salad as it was one of the safe places to have vegetables. It was quite refreshing. Service was good. It's a bit noisy of a place because it's so busy, but definitely good value for the money. And many locations around, so easy to find one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joolzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    373
    95
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nakuru Branch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

There's a wonderful waitress whose service has been excellent both times we have been.You need to do something about the flies indoors that congregate near the window.Food is okay and it is a nice hang out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanjiruT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The love for coffee and bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had heard about the place from a friend and was eager to try it. Apart from good location, prompt service, the food s amazingly yummy. Whatever you order, you end up loving it. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank prateekjaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

slow service but decent food. great for simple lunches. the place is always full so it's nice for people watching.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank neriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice time over coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I visited Java Coffee house in ABC place (Waiyaki Way) on the last day of my stay in Nairobi and found this place very pleasant.

Outside sitting of the restaurant was very good but we could not get the seats outside so we sat inside, it was equally good.

The coffee and snacks were good and overall i had good time at this place. Want to visit this place more often if i visit Nairobi again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing