We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #9 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good coffee, good food. A little bit slow service at times, but otherwise ok.
The other great thing is the availability of WIFI, always comes in handy for a quick meeting.

All in all, its definitely worth going to Java house

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    362
    93
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
441 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very nice place to sit outside, free wifi, poor toilets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

They have a great garden where you can sit in the shade without the impression that a very busy street is right next to you (Nairobi Hospital is very close). Standard Java menu http://www.nairobijavahouse.com/good-food/general-menu (though it does not have everything they offer, maybe they could update the online menu), standard polite and a bit slow service (which I can understand since the place was busy). It is not really big inside, but it offers enough. I have to say that I think they are cutting down on chips served along other food (chicken, fish or quiche, which is, by the way, excellent) - we are visiting Java branches for over a year and somehow the amount of chips got smaller, which is a pity. Toilets are shared with the building next to Java and are quite miserable, small and not really clean either. This branch in Argwings Kodhek Road is much better than the one in Mama Ngina Street, but still nothing beats the one on Mara Road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The coffee was great, which surprised me that they know how to make a proper cappuccino. The food was not so special, but quite pricey. It was always busy there, but the staff had really given good service.
And do not expect to have Wifi in a coffee shop in Nairobi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always great to be here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Well, it is a little late for this review because I have been going to Java coffee house for over a year. But I still would review so you understand how great it is. The thing I like about Java coffee house is that whichever branch you go to, the menu and service is standard. Great service I must say, and food too. I love the WiFi availability too, quite helpful when on a business meeting or when the traffic jam forces you to sit down somewhere and work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sleen_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Java Junction Hilarious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Java Coffee House at the Junction Mall along Ngong Road is a wonderful place to have a meal, relax and just fill hilarious about yourself! They treat you like royalty, and their meals are mouth watering and satisfying. They are also not mean, you eat to your fill!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing