We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“JUST AWESOME” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #9 of 513 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JUST AWESOME”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I like the consistency, you go to any of their many outlets and it's the same, good food, nice service, nice ambiance, the prices are fair. It is total value for ur money. I would recommend it any day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    363
    93
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant, and a pretty good one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

With Java you know what you are going to get. Its a decent chain restaurant with various coffees, cakes and light meals (salads, burgers etc), in the bigger branches at least. Service can be hit and miss, but that's more or less everywhere in Nairobi. The chocolate fudge cake is veeery rich, and the banana bread not bad. Salads are good - the only minus was when we went the other day, they had run out of chips for the burgers (this was at the start of a busy Friday night) and offered salad as a side instead. OK, not a problem - but running out of chips? For a fast food outlet, kind of a no-no ;-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Java gigiri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure sampling almost all the java's in Nairobi.and the best is the Gigiri branch.Guess its because of the location. I always enjoy my meal and the service is great.parking can be a problem but its always full so I guess that is a good sign. in general I have been a fan of this coffee house since it begun. Nowadays though the milkshake is not as it used to be. Thought it was a one time thing till I tried a few more branches(guess its the economy). it had one of the best milkshakes ever(quite thick and delicious) not anymore,they aren't bad but I know it can be better. prices are now higher and in some cases not valid.how is hot water lemon and ginger 200 shillings??
All in all I am a fan and will be as long as the standards are maintained.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pur-fect ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Java has been consistent with its quality of service ever since I first visited.it luxurious & reasonably priced all while feeling Kenyan.I love love their chicken strips salad!!!best of all they positively and immediately respond to suggestions.
the only down thing about it is you find priced have jumped upwards...e.g. last year the chicken strips salad was KES 420 thereabouts..it's now KES 540 they added like 100 bob on top!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nastybish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good food and drinks, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a cool chain that feels local but has international conveniences. It's a good landmark for downtown too because everyone knows where it is. Great menu; I had the vegetarian quiche one day and the almond croissant another. The Minty Pineapple juice was very nice too. Service is slow and you may have trouble getting a table at peak times. I say budget at least an hour for a lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank loml25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing