We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a nice place for coffee and lunch too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #9 of 473 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a nice place for coffee and lunch too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

located in one of the famous street of nairobi, koinange street. it a cool yet a classy meeting point where you can have that finger licking dish . a nice place indeed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    330
    86
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I literally do not know what id do without Java. My tastes, my preferences and fantastic service. Always going to have my business!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elenor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“monopoly at the airport, great in general”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

with Wi-Fi, many drinks options (iced coffee's teas, etc. the only complaint I have is snack & Food-On-The-Go selection.
although it's still decent, it's not the best I've had in kenya.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot Lemon and Ginger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Java is a great local spot for breakfast or lunch. Food is pretty tasty and service good. The hot lemon and ginger drink is AMAZING! My husband is addicted. I love the fact there is one at the airport - makes waiting there bearable!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

There are java locations all around Nairobi and the food is pretty consistent throughout. They have an amazing honey, lemon, and ginger drink that cures all ails

My biggest gripe is that they've started serving pretty small portions, particularly for lunch. Also, the service can sometimes be really bad, but I think this varies from location to location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing