We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #8 of 475 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a doctor's appointment on a saturday in the same building housing Java Upper Hill Medical and as I waited for my friend decided to have some brunch! The service was not up to par as it took the intervention of the duty manager/supervisor to get service but the omelette/home fries & toast were yummy when I was finally served! I find the taste of their tea keeping changing though, not the best I've tasted! They have wonderful minty pineade juice great in this hot weather.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 31Judd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    334
    87
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Cafe Food in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A broad and tasty menu, if a little expensive. Service is generally very good too. Lots of outlets across Nairobi, they all seem to be the same high standard.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Standards Starting To Slip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went to Java house at ABC centre for lunch yesterday and was disappointed. As always it is very busy, but we had to ask a number of times for our drinks / ice. I had Masala Chips which were cold and the sandwich wasn't great.

Used to go here alot for lunch, but maybe they have become too busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlammerKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy your Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A nice meeting place for good coffee and food, avoid rush hours, ideal for a relaxed breakfast or brunch on a Sunday morning, a good choice of cuisine,nice informal ambiance for young and old.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee but very crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is undeniably the best coffee shop in Nairobi. Their coffee is the best.However, the place is too small and crowded for one to enjoy their coffee.
The lunch period of between 12pm and 1pm are the busiest.
Best time to visit is before 12 or around 3pm before evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing