We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid sandwich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #9 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, African, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solid sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went to Java House with a group of five for lunch yesterday. My chicken pesto sandwich was okay. We ordered a bottle of water for the table but they only brought one glass so I had to ask for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lffinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    321
    82
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great coffee and freshly prepared food and juices (oh the mango juice!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went here on our recent visit to Nairobi by recommendation of my sister, who knows Nairobi well.

We were at The Junction Mall. They are dotted around the city, but my sister said this one was the prettiest, with a beautiful outside terrace, with good seating and umbrellas, set back from the road, by quite a bit, so nice and serene (yes, even in Nairobi, you can get serene!!)

We had paninis and steak, all fantastic and the FRESHLY prepared mango juice was amazing!

The coffee was great too, very smooth and not at all bitter. Kenya grows some of the best in the world, and all java houses coffee is Kenyan fair trade, using ? I think, single origin beans.

Would definitely reccommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great coffee and great attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Whenever I'm flying via Nairobi, I have to get a coffee at the Java outlet in the airport. It's great coffee. Before my last Masai Mara safari in December, i stopped for two days in Nairobi for some sightseeing. Since it was raining we went to dry off and for a little lunch to the nearby Galleria shopping mall in Karen. We went straight to the Java coffee house and ordered some sandwiches. I had a cheese quesadilla which to my surprise was also full of coriander. Unfortunately, I'm not a fan of it so I looked a bit disappointed. The waitress immedialtely asked if something was not to my liking and I explained. She took the quesadilla with a smile and said she will get a new one without any coriander. The new one took not long, and the waitress shortly after serving came back toassure if I was happy. I was really surprised by the positivie attitude and that they replaced the item without any debate. Thanks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Kenya coffee, melt-in-your-mouth croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

After a week on safari with good but not great (dark) coffee, Java House was heaven! And.... (my standards for croissants are high; I've lived in France), the almond croissant was bliss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IGetAroundFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business Coffee House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a good place for all business discussions for individuals. It is well located, placed and roomy for all what one would need for a nice business discussion. The Coffee is fresh and well prepared to taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing