We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great coffee and great attitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java House

Java House
Ranked #8 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great coffee and great attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Whenever I'm flying via Nairobi, I have to get a coffee at the Java outlet in the airport. It's great coffee. Before my last Masai Mara safari in December, i stopped for two days in Nairobi for some sightseeing. Since it was raining we went to dry off and for a little lunch to the nearby Galleria shopping mall in Karen. We went straight to the Java coffee house and ordered some sandwiches. I had a cheese quesadilla which to my surprise was also full of coriander. Unfortunately, I'm not a fan of it so I looked a bit disappointed. The waitress immedialtely asked if something was not to my liking and I explained. She took the quesadilla with a smile and said she will get a new one without any coriander. The new one took not long, and the waitress shortly after serving came back toassure if I was happy. I was really surprised by the positivie attitude and that they replaced the item without any debate. Thanks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    383
    100
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Kenya coffee, melt-in-your-mouth croissants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

After a week on safari with good but not great (dark) coffee, Java House was heaven! And.... (my standards for croissants are high; I've lived in France), the almond croissant was bliss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IGetAroundFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business Coffee House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a good place for all business discussions for individuals. It is well located, placed and roomy for all what one would need for a nice business discussion. The Coffee is fresh and well prepared to taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have rarely been so impressed overall with a place as I have with Java Coffee House, no matter which one I have been to in Nairobi. Great atmosphere, an impressive variety of good-tasting food, excellent coffee, and fantastic customer service! My wife and I once made the mistake of arriving during the extremely busy lunch hour at the Yaya Centre Java Coffee House. No tables were available but the waitresses arranged for us to just sit for a few minutes at a table occupied by another client who agreed to let us use a couple of empty chairs. Within a short period, we had our own comfortable booth and enjoyed another good meal. Highest recommendations!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
729 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Given that stopping at a cafe for a coffee and pastry can be a bit of a gamble this place is reasonably safe. The airport branch has excellent service too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java House also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Java House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing