We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Visited again recently & still loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #39 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Visited again recently & still loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I went to this place with a few office colleagues during our recent business visit to Nairobi. We liked the food so much that we went there thrice in our 3 week visit. The highlight of the menu is the HUMMUS WITH MEAT and the FALAFELs which are served really hot. My colleauges loved both these items and we only had these on our follow-up visits. The service is also nice however the waiters are a little ignorant at times. The price was also reasonable for the quantity of food we had. I loved this place and so did my colleauges

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    75
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best place in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I dream of this place. I dream of the vegetarian mezze (I haven't been able to expand beyond that). The location is hell in traffic (and when is there not traffic???) and the ambience is meh (i.e. not worth it for all that traffic) BUT being the best place in Nairobi, they deliver. Allow a good hour for delivery. Watch out that the mezze are enormous. It is over-priced but with so little competition, it's worth it to suck it up and pay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I found the place to be neither bad nor fancy, just in-between. Because the things that made me happy balanced with those that I found wanting.

And let me start with the cons because I know that's either why you are reading this review, or that's what many people want to hear. I count myself in the second part of that crowd. I also wouldn't want you to leave too soon...

Drove in with nobody out there to guide through the painfully squeezed, tight and tiny parking lot. No directions to show "enter here" or "exit herein". That was compunded by waiters staring blankly when I walked in not offering a place to place my tired bum on nor ushering in. I partly blame the shorts and slippers that I was putting on for all that unwelcome feeling

Got a seat and after a few (read 3) minutes, a tired looking waiter came buy with on-the-house snacks, as he took our orders. Pretty quick in serving up the orders perhaps because I decided to go for the chef's special.

The "freshly squeezed orange juice", however, must have come out of a tree that bears packets of orange juice because the only place that juice must have been squeezed out of aint no orange but a tetra pak. It had no natural taste and was sedimenting like sandy water.

The food rations were generous I should say. So generous that I couldn't finish and asked them to put the left-overs for me in a foil. The foil was provided after 20 minutes of asking for it.

Price? A bit too steep for what was served though. It was not an out-of-this-world flavour so I didn't expect the number on the bill. I for once thought that the voluptuous waiter was offering me her phone number only that the shilling sign before the number jolted me from my drooly ogle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a gem!!!The food is great.I love all dishes on the menu.Delicious and very soft Felafel,tasty hummus and fresh pita bread.We ordered Mezze for two and really enjoyed every items of that.Another plus is the helpful staffs.I'll certainly be back. I recommend this everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beware of ordering too much. The portions are substantial and very filling. However, I ordered fish skewers for the main course but the fish was overcooked and tasteless. I was given a grilled snapper to replace it, but that too was overcooked. However, my companion ordered another fish course and that was tasty and well presented. The mezzes are fresh and tasty. It is probably the best Lebanese style restaurant in Nairobi.

The restaurant has quite a nice ambiance and the service has improved since our last visit some months ago. The wine list also seems to have improved but the wines are on the pricey side. The restaurant as ample car parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing