We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service at cedars Lenana road”
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #72 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and good service at cedars Lenana road”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ordered for three dishes and was pleasantly surprised. Got starters for lunch and on a another occasion got nice bar biting at the bar during an evening drink.
Waiters helpful and courteous.
Ambiance ordinary but clean and tidy.
Need more parking s

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgebest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    81
    29
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect Lebanese food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really the perfect place to go for Lebanese food in Nairobi and probably one of my favorite restaurants here. The place is great for groups (as sharing food is lovely with Mezze), but is very comfortable for a solo female too. Great bites, lovely grills, lots of garlic :-)

Recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum! Great food, especially for groups.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food here is fantastic, and the ambiance is very pleasant. However, it's a bit pricey. The mezze platters feed 1-3 more people than they say they do, so it's a fantastic place to come in groups.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely the best Lebanese restaurant in town”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ive been coming back to cedars for years now and I am never let down with the quality of the food. Good service and even better barmen. Might be a bot pricy but is worth it considering the authenticity of the food and the overall service

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxjz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glass in our Food!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went to cedars for a big birthday dinner last night - been there before and the food has always been good. We got full mezze (way too much food even for ten people as a FYI).

My friend put a bite of food in his mouth and went white and spit out in a napkin 7 glass chards the size of peas! We called over the waiter, and he took my friends plate away and never even brought him a new one or came to apologize. So we asked to see the manager and the chef and went into the kitchen. They hunted through the plate of food and found the glass in the garlic sauce. Mind you that there were chards of glass all over the kitchen floor. They agreed that they would comp something on our bill as he could have gone to the hospital or worse.

Fast forward to getting our bill... and no comp'ed items. They said they would comp a cappuccino if we wanted one! Another of our party had to go into the kitchen and give them an earful - about how any other country and they would be sued and shut down. They finally comp'ed our water and dessert only.

Really really appalled at the service, the lack of apologizing for finding GLASS in our food, and the inability to do anything about our bill. They were downright rude. Its too bad as the food is pretty good, but we will never be going back here after this experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ABontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing