We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Food. Service & Ambiance needs improvement.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #37 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food. Service & Ambiance needs improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Been here 3 times. Eaten in twice and taken out once.

Raves;
- Tasty food. I've tried their chicken wings, mezzes, steaks etc.
- Good location - off Lenana Road which i find quite convenient.

Rants
- Food display lacks creativity/artistry.
- Interior & exterior seating needs an uplift. The terrace close to the car park leaves alot to be desired. The restaurant interior is okay but somewhat feels like 'lonely'. Add flowers, paintings, music...just something.
- Service improvement also needed. Hostess[es] were too busy giggling to show me to a table. A friend once asked for a recommendation & the waiter said 'fish and chips'. Quite disappointing given this is a Lebanese restaurant.
- No music playing in the background - please include.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FearlessInfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    70
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant In Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although getting a bit pricy this is still my favourite restaurant in Nairobi. As a vegetarian there is nothing that can beat their vegetarian mezze which is a truely amazing variety of flavours.
Don't think that I have managed to finish everything that they bring yet.
Just wish they would open one up in Karen!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlammerKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After a long time my parents, husband and some family friends decided to try Lebanese. Cedars did not disappoint the food was delicious as far as vegetarians were concerned. Excellent tabbouleh, hummus, baba ghanoush, labne, and falafel. The meat eaters had the veg starters then ordered a Shish taouk which they were disappointed in especially at 1500 for the dish. Service was fantastic, very efficient. There is a great looking playground which looks ideal for a family lunch with kids. The outdoor eating area is ok. My one complain was the price of lime cordial! I ordered a shot of lime cordial and a sprite, the lime cordial shot was 150shs! That I thought was ridiculous!
Apart from that a great meal and yes would definitely go back again but will not be asking for lime cordial.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twiga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese in East Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mezzes are pretty decent but you can also do pretty well ordering single dishes of your favorites and sharing them. We like the mini chicken schwarma, falafel, tabouli, hummus, baba ghanoush, and cheese sambousa. Kind of a bummer that they don't have a good lamb dish or lamb schwarma. Great chicken dishes though. Super attentive service who keep you well stocked in drinks and endless pita bread. Watch your wallet if ordering the juice here, its well overpriced. Everything else is a pretty decent value though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Setting, service and food are very good and there is a playground for kids but prices are a bit expensive for Nairobi average.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VGSHTairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing