We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Lebanese food I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars

Cedars
Ranked #33 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Lebanese food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Being new in the country, I only heard about Cedars through excellent comments from my work colleagues and thought I should check it out. I easily got all the information i needed from their website and even managed to book a table online.
My colleagues were right, the food most of all was absolutely excellent, the service was perfect, the waiters were attentive and very friendly.
Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxjz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    70
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Lebanese disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Having come from a place where great lebanese food exists, this was a sure disappointment. Over-priced with terrible service and microwaved bread served in a plastic bag was not what I expected from good Lebanese food. The waiters looked like they were doing you a favour to serve you. Food was average. We had the meat bbq platter with mashed potato which was unseasoned and certainly not Lebanese in any way. Vegetables were overcooked and a platter of pickles intoxicated with vinegar were an accompaniment. Best of all, the salt shaker on the table was not functional as you could hardly get any salt out of it. There was hardly a waiter in sight to ask for a refill. Unfortunately, not a favourite and don't think we will be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank genieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

After reading some of the other reviews, I expected a great dining experience and fantastic food, but was sadly disappointed.
The decor in the restaurant is quite nice, but the whole warm and cozy feeling was let down by cold, gloomy sad looking waiters. There is a bar at the restaurant but no drinks menu.
The food came out very quickly. We started with Homus (Hummus) which was ok. The bread was not fresh (quite tough), microwaved and brought to us steaming hot in a small plastic bag, wrapped in a Napkin.
Also had Mixed bbq, with mashed potato. The mash was bland, unseasoned. Meat was so so. I have had authentic Lebanese food and Cedars certainly does no do it justice.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSnyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“You'll only stop eating when you double your size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The most wonderful Lebanese food I've ever tried - highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeekendHussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
242 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Excellent Lebanese food, the best in town, served in a nice garden. Make sure you've not eaten for several days, or plan to take a doggy back back home with you, as the portions are not small.

  • Visited June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars also viewed

 

Been to Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing