We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chinese cuisine the Good old fashioned way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong
Ranked #404 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chinese cuisine the Good old fashioned way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I know this restaurant for a few decades and had dinner there recently with a few colleagues,
the place had not changed its decor nor its food quality along the years, and as such is a very unique place for very good no nonsense chinese cuisine,,,,.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virunga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Chinese Cuisine in the middle of Africa !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My memories of this place date back many years (30) maybe and when visiting Nairobi we always try and make it a must to visit. Yes the place could do with a make over and probably a bit dark inside like some family run restaurants in Hong Kong, but the food has always been very very good and that's what you go for to eat good Chinese authentic cuisine. Service staff are average but friendly. We also used to make it a must to visit the Hong Kong in Mombasa which was run by same family and food equally as good if not better probably in a nicer setting and building. A shame the one in Mombasa at the Bamburi/Nyali turn off is closed now but not sure if the 3rd sister restaurant in downtown Mombasa is still open. All three did excellent Chinese mandarin cuisine !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfersTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unanimous Suggestion From Locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There was very little question by the locals we asked about the best Chinese or Thai food in downtown Nairobi (Could be a limited number of options, not sure). They all suggested Hong Kong (Chinese/Cantonese). It was walking distance from The Norfolk, our hotel. Our entire party was VERY pleased with their meals and we almost went back for lunch the following day, but decided we needed to experience other foods. Did not expect to find Asian food this good in Keyna, very impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheIowaCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

When in town, it's in a nice and not too noisy corner right in the middle of town. Not too sure what opening times but chanced, I liked the service and food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank smwelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Kenya and all about
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food,terrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Driving around the city centre ,we stumbled across this place.Old decor,deep carpets,slighlty musty interior,only two other tables ocuppied when we arrived.Staff reluctant to leave their huddle by the kitchen area.Ordered and the food was surprisingly good,really couldnt complain.Staff carried on lacklustre approach for more drinks.Paid the bill and didnt get any change back,im assuming the assumption was,i would give it anyway.Requested it which resulted in a great show of looking for it.Absolutely terrible behaviour.Guess alot of westerners get ripped off like this.Great food from an average looking place,nice and quiet but the staff just ruined the experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing