We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Nairobi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jessica S
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magnificent ”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

It's fair to say I did an astonishing amount of research before booking our Nairobi Hotel. Having been twice before, I had found only unspeakably vile nouveau style hotels - or "boutique" sites with about as much flair as a disabled rhino on roller skates.

Then I discovered Anga Afrika - a tented camp in the serene region of Karen.

To put it rather bluntly, the cost per night betrayed the elegance of this property. I would hesitate to call it a hotel because it was much more like coming home. On arrival, one excitable fluffy creature named Marley rushes to greet you, whilst a more reserved golden retriever named Carrie shyly growls before she comes in for a belly scratch - a mannerism to indicate her role as head of security. A job she takes very seriously.

There was no banal check in, no waiting around to hand over credit card details. We arrived at 22.00 and the staff rushed our bags into our wonderful tent and ensured we were not hungry. Whilst the temperatures were comfortable they nevertheless popped hot water bottles under our duvets.

Whilst I am at risk of writing an essay here - I will persist. Anyone who has spent a lot of time in East Africa generally accepts that service is at best slow and at worst as helpful as a band aid for a gunshot wound. At Anga Afrika, the owners have clearly put a lot of effort into curating a wonderful group of staff. From the chef who cooked us up some perfect al denté pasta to the grounds keeper Joseph who made sure our camp fire never dimmed. The waiter Daniel went above this title - he was more of a butler to his guests, no job was too big or small for him in the pursuit of your comfort.

There is something joyous about an experience that far exceeds all expectations, possibly because it is such a rarity. Anga Afrika is a hidden gem. An oasis of calm just minutes away from all that Nairobi has to offer to tourists. The decor is authentic and inviting and the tents quintessentially African.

My friends and I leave truly grateful for an exceptional experience. My only advice for any lucky future travelers heading to this property is to pack ear plugs. Whilst I love the sound of nature, there are a plethora of birds that like the sound of their own shrieks a little too much, and some dogs that like to say hello to each other at 3am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you Jessica, for your very nice review - it was great to have you stay. You and your friends are always welcome at Anga Afrika. Carry, Happy, Milo & Marley are missing your warm greetings :)
Karibu tena
Bernd & Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asela D
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect after a long Safari”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you are looking to relax in a peaceful atmosphere close to Nairobi after a hectic safari, then this is the place to stay. It’s in Karan so close by to the Giraffe center and Karan museum and other attractions around Nairobi. Always a friendly host in Bernd who stops by to have chat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Dear Asela, thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay and hope to see you again one day at Anga Afrika or our Villas in Diani Beach.
All the best
yours Bernd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Franc...
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one night in this tented camp and we had a wonderful time.
The place has a charming atmosphere, very classy, very African and yet very modern.
You feel that you are in the middle of the bush, while really you are 30 minutes from town.
The owner, Bernd, as well his staff will do everything to make you feel special.
As an example, they set up your very own bond fire in front of your tent. And they also add water bottles in bed to make sure you spend a vert warm night, since your are indeed sleeping in a tent (which can get chilly at nigh).
After leaving, we were actually thinking of when we could actually come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Jambo & thank you Jon for being our guest.
You are always welcome - Karibu Sana.
Bernd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super relaxing, great service, would highly recommend!”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Anga for a birthday with my girlfriend and asked for a few special things for them to prepare beforehand. The staff was very accommodating and even called to follow up and confirm.

The place is basically 6 huge spacious tented units with a tented area where they serve food and a lounge, very well done (not too overboard), and super relaxing atmosphere. There is not much else beside your tent so make sure your expectations are aligned. We were looking for a place that was very chill where we could relax without any interruptions.

The food was also decent - breakfast was a plate of eggs and other meats, plate of fruit, tea and juice. Dinner starts with a soup, a main entree, and fruit.

Also, super strong wifi throughout the entire day.

This place fit the bill exactly, would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Dear Patrick,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Anga Afrika.
It was a pleasure hosting you and you will receive a special gift at your next visit. All the best for you and your Girlfriend.
yours Bernd Trompell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlixSusan
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful paradise!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bernd, George and the team are just amazing! From the moment we arrived at Anga Afrika we felt at home! Everyone was so warm and welcoming and the tented camp was far beyond our expectations. The 'tent' had everything we could think of and more and the grounds it is set in are beautiful and serene, plus the food is amazing! Everyone was so kind and accomodating and I couldn't recommend it enough, I will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you Alix & Susan,
You are very welcome again "Karibu Tena":-)
yours
Bernd Trompell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanib878
Burgos, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K
Erfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Danke Oliver,
Ich hoffe Ihr hattet eine schöne Safari.
Ihr seid immer willkommen "Karibu Tena"
und liebe Grüße nach Erfurt
Euer Bernd Trompell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing