We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I’m stuffed!!!”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 964 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

If you like meat , this is the place to be. Not only meat but other rare delicacies. All the people/ servers are very friendly!!! The price is very reasonable for the amount of meat that you can eat. After the fourth type of meat, I was already stuffed..worth the visit while in Nairobi

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank joero24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Dear Joe, Thank you for checking us out and giving us such a great 5 star review. We are delighted that your visit met with your expectations and you found the servers friendly, and the price reasonable. We appreciate your favourable comments which have been passed to all concerned and are a great acknowledgement of their efforts. Many thanks again for the feedback. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 419 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2019

I read all about this place as someplace to go when in Nairobi. When I landed I headed there for dinner on a Friday night and got more than expected. Some say it's expensive which scared me but that is to your taste. I had 3 drinks and dinner for less than $30 I believe including 1/4 lb of meat plus a side. That is not bad where I come from. I tried the ostrich, crocodile, and pork and three local drinks for what it is worth. They had singing and dancing and a club party type environment ( this was late night 10pm and after) . Again this was one of the best experiences I had in Africa.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Jasev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Dear Jasev, Thank you for checking us out and giving us such a wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted that your dinner met with your high expectations and you enjoyed the variety of meats and the atmosphere of singing and dancing. These are definitely the things we are very proud of about our restaurant and we are happy to hear that they made a positive impact on your experience. Many thanks again for your great feedback which has been passed to the team. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019

Enjoy the service and the grilled meat. I eat very few meat, for a combination of healthy and environmental reason, but Carnivor is an experience to go if it happen to be in Nairobi. Chicken, turkey, lamb, beef, crocodile and ostrich served with superior vegetables. Good Wine selection from South Africa, Chile and Australia mainly. Asante kwa kukaribishwa na kuona hivi karibuni!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emycolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Dear Emy, Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing time and that you thoroughly enjoyed the full Carnivore feast including the vegetables and the wine selection.. It is always so encouraging for us when we hear such great 5 star reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regard Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019

Knew we had to visit this famous restaurant and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and service but the food was not really to our taste. The variety the night we went was quite limited but this did not spoil our overall visit.
We dined very early and the restaurant had only just opened so there was a lack of buzz which I am sure is there once it is full.
Don't let this put you off as its an experience and I am glad we went, also I think as this was at the end of our safari trip we were probably quite tired and did not fully enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Dear Candice, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your visit to Carnivore and though the food wasn't to your taste and the variety was limited, you really enjoyed the atmosphere and the service. Your comments have been shared with the team and where necessary the food issues will be addressed. Many thanks for sharing your feedback and we hope you will be back again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019

This food adventure kicked off our stay in Kenya. It was a meat feast that did not stop until you were full, full, full! The staff is attentive and just delightful. We loved the Dawa that was served to whet our appetite and mixed at the table in a grand fashion. The meats were varied - pork, beef, chicken, lamb, crocodile, ostrich, and ox balls. I loved the barbecue pork ribs best!! The bread, vegetables and desserts were also very yummy. Go and have fun!!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaddyLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Dear Maddy /Libby Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us and for your wonderful compliments. We are delighted to hear that the staff were attentive and delightful the house cocktail 'dawa' good and the whole feast yummy. These are definitely the things we are very proud of about our restaurant and we are happy to hear that they made a positive impact on your experience. Many thanks again for your great review which has been passed to the team. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.