We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for big groups”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for big groups”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have visited this restaurant several times and am always impressed by the consistency in service. They are able to cater for large groups very well. It gets a bit crowded though. Definitely one of the best places to get roasted meat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    1,083
    562
    203
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, even good for vegetarians!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

It's definitely fun to visit since it is a one-of-a-kind restaurant! The food was good and they even have a fairly large selection of vegetarian options. If you choose the set menu (ca. 40$ per person) you will get an entree followed by all-you-can-eat meat of all kinds (beef, pork, chicken, crocodile, ox balls, ostrich, turkey...) accompanied by salad, potatoes and various dips and sauces. Desert and coffee is also included in the menu.

Only negative part of our visit was that they were rushing us a little bit, everything came so quickly we hardly had time to enjoy the courses.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelE034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over advertised, overpriced and overrated!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have to admit I was not impressed with the Carivore at all! We went there with my husband as we`ve heard so many excellent reviews about this place from other people and even recommended by our tourist guide, so we decided we can`t miss it.
We arrived there at 5:30pm and we were told the dinner is served from 6pm, which was fine, we could wait and start with a drink. However we got a bit annoyed when we finally got the food at 6:50pm. I was hoping that the excellent food will make up for the long wait. I couldn’t be more wrong. The meat was average with chicken being the best on the menu. We were looking forward to try crocodile and ostrich, but it was just a big disappointment, bland and overcooked. The atmosphere in the restaurant was good, but the quality of service we received was terrible - the worst experience in Kenya we had the 11 days we were there!
Overall I don’t recommend this place, it is just a tourist trap and we fell for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like meat ........”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This restaurant is legendary - wonderfully barbequed selection of meats carved at the table. Great atmosphere and a brilliant night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meatlovers special”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good setting for a great dinner, but seems like the place has the same problem as some of the safarihotels, the operation has grown too big.

However everything works and nobody leaves hungry. A bit on the expensive side, though...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing