We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great meat and ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great meat and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were a group of six, were greeted with enthusiasm and had a great table. There was a wide variety of meats, prepared over an open fire pit, including several exotic meats. Crocodile and ostrich were that days' exotics. It is similar in format to the Brazilian style skewer service. A fair wine selection, and the local Tusker beer is worthy of a try. Great service, a necessary stop when in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamoor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    919
    494
    167
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“As the Name Implies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A wide variety of proteins delivered, carved and served tableside until you "raise the white flag", indicating that you can't take any more. Fine dining it is not, but it is fun and unique.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for Meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 10 dine for lunch at Carnivore. The service was superb and the food was well prepared. The restaurant operates in a "Brazilian" fashion with all the food you can eat. The local specialty meats were excellent; including crocodile, ostrich, bull testicles and others. Don't be afraid to try them if you can, they are all tasty. The salad is safe, purified water is used to clean the veggies. This was one of the best meals we had in Nairobi, even though it is sort of a tourist place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeacSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised by quality of vegetarian/pescatarian options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is solidly a meat eaters place, but I went as part of a larger group excursion as part of a Conference. I was pleasantly surprised by the number of options they offered to non-meat eaters, and was pleased with the quality of the tilapia dish I ordered -- delicious. The entertainment was fun and encouraged the many shy members of our group to get out and dance. The servers did have this way of silently shunning/disapproving of the vegetarians -- they took away the 'steak' knives and forks at the table, and replaced them with a 'regular' fork and a butter knife. That would be my only complaint -- otherwise I'd recommend this. And I'm sure all the carnivores really love it :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exotic dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had heard about the world famous Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi. But going is such a dining adventure. Upon entering there is a board with all the days meat selections. There is a huge 25' round double decker BBQ pit with large skewers of meat all around. The waiters will bring the meat on the skewers to the table and tell you what it is and offer to carve off a slice with a machete. The we had that night was the super lean Camel. The next best was the Ostrich roast. They keep bringing the meat until you raise the white flag and surrendering. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumshoe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing