We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meat and ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great meat and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were a group of six, were greeted with enthusiasm and had a great table. There was a wide variety of meats, prepared over an open fire pit, including several exotic meats. Crocodile and ostrich were that days' exotics. It is similar in format to the Brazilian style skewer service. A fair wine selection, and the local Tusker beer is worthy of a try. Great service, a necessary stop when in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamoor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    1,023
    538
    188
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“As the Name Implies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

A wide variety of proteins delivered, carved and served tableside until you "raise the white flag", indicating that you can't take any more. Fine dining it is not, but it is fun and unique.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great for Meat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 10 dine for lunch at Carnivore. The service was superb and the food was well prepared. The restaurant operates in a "Brazilian" fashion with all the food you can eat. The local specialty meats were excellent; including crocodile, ostrich, bull testicles and others. Don't be afraid to try them if you can, they are all tasty. The salad is safe, purified water is used to clean the veggies. This was one of the best meals we had in Nairobi, even though it is sort of a tourist place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank steveswope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised by quality of vegetarian/pescatarian options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is solidly a meat eaters place, but I went as part of a larger group excursion as part of a Conference. I was pleasantly surprised by the number of options they offered to non-meat eaters, and was pleased with the quality of the tilapia dish I ordered -- delicious. The entertainment was fun and encouraged the many shy members of our group to get out and dance. The servers did have this way of silently shunning/disapproving of the vegetarians -- they took away the 'steak' knives and forks at the table, and replaced them with a 'regular' fork and a butter knife. That would be my only complaint -- otherwise I'd recommend this. And I'm sure all the carnivores really love it :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exotic dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had heard about the world famous Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi. But going is such a dining adventure. Upon entering there is a board with all the days meat selections. There is a huge 25' round double decker BBQ pit with large skewers of meat all around. The waiters will bring the meat on the skewers to the table and tell you what it is and offer to carve off a slice with a machete. The we had that night was the super lean Camel. The next best was the Ostrich roast. They keep bringing the meat until you raise the white flag and surrendering. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumshoe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing