We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-go place in Nairobi”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Must-go place in Nairobi”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Amazing place, unforgettable experiance, have visited after our safari. Taxi from Nairobi center to restaurant and back 35 USD, buffet USD 42 + drinks. The place for meat lovers, ox balls were delicious! Must visit place in Nairobi!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_Hakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,073
    1,089
    563
    203
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A perfect local experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant is amazing, starting from its location, to the deco, ambience and so on. It's big and it's always full, however it doesn't really matter cause there is enough staff around taking care of you. They have a massive variety of meet including quite exotic ones. Very tasty and well cooked. The cocktails are also top and it was really amazing. Would go again and again to get a feast from the beast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knej C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great for Carnivores”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was part of my safari, so I happily joined in the traditional fun. But, as someone who doesn't eat that much at buffets and especially not a lot of meat, they made a fair amount of money off of me. I really liked the ostrich meat... the ox balls? Blah!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best at its best”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is an amazing spot to meet the real life of outing in Kenya, i went to carnivore after my Safari, Joseph the professor in guiding due to his sights during game drives of Lipi adventure, told me its worthy a visit just at extra dollars

You don't need to book in advance you can pop in a taste the true taste of Kenya barbecue, its all about game meat dance and meeting and seeing different cultures collected together for an evening time to be spent

I liked it and i really recommend it its worth they payment we paid with my wife

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just for the sake”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was taken by my guide when we got back from safari in Kenya, to me it had nothing to do with any input except just to have been at Carnivore, the place is crowded and everything seems commercial.

The place doesn't have the peace one would like while away from home looks like anytime anything bad can happen, i would just advice people to go there just because they wouldn't feel well wel not to have been there but its not worthy all the fame

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horst F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing