We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just for the sake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just for the sake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was taken by my guide when we got back from safari in Kenya, to me it had nothing to do with any input except just to have been at Carnivore, the place is crowded and everything seems commercial.

The place doesn't have the peace one would like while away from home looks like anytime anything bad can happen, i would just advice people to go there just because they wouldn't feel well wel not to have been there but its not worthy all the fame

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horst F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    917
    492
    167
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tired and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everyone told us that if we were going to Nairobi at all then we MUST got to Carnivore. I'm sure in its heyday when you could eat more exotic meats and actual game, it might have been but to be honest it is nothing more than a glorified BBQ restaurant. It definitely felt "down at heel" and in serious need of some painting and freshening up. Too much of a tourist trap for me. Reasonable value for money but I'm sure there are much better restaurants in Nairobi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you visit Nairobi this is a "must" place; the Carnivore is quite far from downtown (it is better to take a taxi). This is a restaurant where it is literally possible to eat any kind of meat you would possibly imagine, included crocodile! This is an "all you can eat" kind of deal; therefore you should come here with a big appetite and possibly skip lunch. Service impeccable, meat accompanied with many different sauces and salads, jacked potatoes and a very nice soup. Desserts included in the price are also very good. A special mention goes to lamb, pork ribs and...Crocodile!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Certainly not up to the hype. The salads were a joke and drinks fairly pricey.
As for the meats, most were good but the croc was so heavily salted it was inedible.
The whole thing feels like a bit of a tourist trap and there are certainly better all you can eat meat places in Nairobi.

Helpful?
Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice variety and the food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was included in my safari so I don't know the cost but it was definitely a fun experience. I was started with soup and a loaf of bread followed by a salad and potato and then as much meat as I could eat. I has lamb three ways, beef and chicken two ways, pork, ostrich and crocodile. I think the ostrich meatball was my favorite meat but the absolute best part of the meal was the pineapple cake which was one of the best hings I've ever eaten. I definitely plan to go back on my next trip to Kenya.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing