We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really enjoyed having my dinner there with my friends ..... Very friendly environment with kind of Traditionally African theme
And different toes of game meet

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Issa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    972
    509
    177
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I found this restaurant to be so-so. I guess they have grown too popular - service is efficient but impersonal. The food was fine but the whole experience feels a bit like a staged show.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marientoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

food, and soooo much of it.
Excellent value for money. Vegetarian's beware, as the name suggests, this restaurant ISN'T for you.
So much meat of different variety. Ostrich steaks, Camel Hump, Crocodile to name but a few! And your usual chicken, Beef, and Pork.
Only downside it is a bit touristy but don't let that put you off

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Kenya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I had the best time at the Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi! The food was delicious, and plentiful. I think my husband tried every kind of meat they had! I personally enjoyed trying meats that we don't get in San Francisco, like crocodile and ostrich. Both were tasty! The service was impeccable. Oh, and don't miss the Dawa - this medicine man will mix you a tasty cocktail or three! I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits Kenya. It's appropriate for a large family gathering or a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must for those on safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

what a fun and well designed restaurant. A feeling you are entering an African village restaurant with meat carvers and people creating drinks tableside. We enjoyed all of the food, the atmosphere and the outstadning staff. Bernadette was a trainee who did a great job educating us on the food, the sauces and what was the best dessert . Francis, was attentive and kind and we really enjoyed all of the energy of the staff. Everyone works so hard to make it an enjoyable experience. Great end to a fantastic trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing