We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Going stale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 522 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going stale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not much has changed over a long while. It's great if you like meat and want to sample different varieties. Also good for a night of dancing at the Simba saloon but a lot has remained the same. Good for first time visits, gets old with time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NjeriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    989
    525
    182
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The trip notes said "you'll either love it or hate it". I didn't lean either way, but felt it is certainly overrated and very very expensive by Nairobi standards (over $50US with a couple of drinks). There was supposed to be an endless supply of fresh cooked meat - whilst there was a reasonable variety it was (generally) either overcooked or 'blue', it was slow to come, you had to ask to get a reasonable serving. Really nice bar, fantastic atmosphere, and a great dance floor.
However, most of the group I was with agreed that it was not good value for money and the food rather ordinary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank droggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meat Eater's place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant is amazing, we have seen different pricing range on tripaddvisor before we go, but we were a group of 8 people, we payed around 30$ each, and we ate until we couldn't move.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alynourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A cool experience, touristy of course, but well worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I came here with a big group of people after we got done a Safari. I had heard about this place of course but it stopped selling most game meat a long time ago. It is basically an africanized brazillian steak house. It has an indoor and outdoor seating arrangement and the whole place is pretty cool. The atmosphere is really cool as well. They brought us out starters for our main course of samosas which were excellent. The also offer you a nice mixed drink to "open up your appetite" but we found out later it only opens up your wallet! Then they have gigantic trays of sauces which are all great. The servers come around with different servings of meat and tell you which sauce goes best with it. They have your beef, chicken, pork, etc which all taste amazing. They also come around with crocodile which was pretty decent, ostrich meatballs, which I could have eaten 50 of put it was like pulling teeth to get more, and then ox balls, which I didn't have! I know, I'm a wuss. I think it was the equivalent of 33USD which is not bad for the whole experience. The hard part is getting out there. We organized with our hotel to bring us out at 2000 shillings per car which isn't too bad because they waited for us the whole time. I would go there again absolutely and if you are in Nairobi you should definitely try it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for meat lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant after 20 years. I did try some of the wild meat like antelopes 20 years ago. But this was banned in 92/93 where you can't hunt for these wild animals and get them into your stomach anymore.
Nevertheless, I love this restaurant as the atmosphere was very nice once we entered. The big BBQ grill station captured every visitors' attention. We were in a organised tour. The set lunch consisted of salad, bread and soup, followed by different rotation of grilled meat including beef, pork, chicken, ostrich, crocodile, then beef, pork ....
There was a small flag in each table. You can just put down your flag when you think you have enough as a carnivore, otherwise they will keep coming besides you and slice the meat on your plate until you surrender.
Don't forget to complete your meal with a genuine Kenyan coffee:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bupuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing