We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the experience”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ate better food in Nairobi but some of the meat was delicious. In any case, I love restaurants that offer something different and Carnivore definitely does. The waiters walk around with all kinds of exotic and some normal meats. I got to try ox tail, ox, and crocodile for the first time. More food is always available to you and the staff makes you feel welcome and love to crack jokes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bringlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,073
    1,089
    564
    204
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great meat. A little gimmicky”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here as part of a tour of Kenya. Meats overall were good, though the lamb chops were so tough I couldn't cut them. Side dishes were just OK. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic african bushmeat and ambience.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went with my daughter and three friends to lunch there on our way in from Mombasa. It was very interesting. They serve you a variety of meat like chicken, turkey, ostrich , pork, lamb, crocodile and ox balls!! All on huge skewers fresh off a huge grill at the entrance to the restaurant. There is African drumming and music playing. It is a huge place fit for large groups. I must also mention Dr Dawa who served us A drink called DAWA, which he mixes with Gin or vodka and tastes really nice though I had to water it down as it was rather alcoholic in content! It tasted and looked rather like a Mohito. All in all it was a pleasant experience and they keep serving you till you can eat no more and put the flag on your table face down. I will definitely go there agin if I am in Nairobi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jumsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Meatastic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The meat was amazing and the ambiance is great. The value for money aspect leaves a little to desire as the service was lacking in the personal touch really. It will remain on my list of places to go as soon as I arrive in Nairobi again though!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun dinner!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a fun place to have dinner if you are in Nairobi. It is a huge restaurant with a neat outdoor patio area, and they come around to your table with many different types of meat like ostrich (really good) and crocodile (not so good). Worth a visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing