We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat and meat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 465 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Wierden, Nederland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and meat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a restaurant we had to visit, so they told us. If you hadn't been here, you hadn't been in Naïrobi. We liked the flag thing where you could eat all the food you could until you you surrendered. The food was nice but not spectacular. A simple steak would have done it for me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanskramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    867
    456
    155
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Meaty Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The meat was great, but now they have chicken wings, turkey, besides all the other meats. Not really what the Kenyans eat.
They could cut out the chicken and turkey.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bortonoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On my last night in Kenya and indeed Africa, our group went out for a meal at Carnivore. I was a little concerned what the hell I would eat considering I am not a carnivore lol but there were several options. The food wasn't great though, perhaps because I wasn't eating the main attraction. We had a selection of salads and sauces on the table with little signs that indicated which would compliment what meat. My friends ate things like Ostrich, zebra, wildebeest... they just come round with kebabs of sizzling meat and fill your plate until you can't eat another bite. Cocktails pricey, the vibe is very enjoyable with lots of intresting people to watch and a nice African feel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great experience, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The setting is great and the food was okay...t's not everyday you get to try crocodile. However, it is really pricey and if it's meat you're after, Fogo Gaucho is better value. A hallmark on the tourist circuit though so you may need to take your out of town guests just so they can say they've been there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about Carnivore. We try our best offer a unique experience to all our guests and obviously do not quite live up to your expectations for which we apologise.
We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“First time to Nairobi? You must experience the Carnivore Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have taken groups to experience the Carnivore Restaurant many times. This is a very unusual restaurant. It's not the usual fare and I'm not going to spoil the surprise. Besides the cuisine, the atmosphere and entertainment is unforgettable. When I was there, I didn't feel like it was a "tourist attraction". As I am writing this, the pictures in my mind are so vivid.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review about The Carnivore.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your positive remarks which will be shared with our staff, who will be inspired to maintain the high standard of food and service.
We look forward to welcoming you and your groups back to the Carnivore in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing